Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011

    Right speed of RAM

    I have crosshair iv formula witch supports "4 x DIMM, Max. 16 GB, DDR3 2000(O.C.)/1800(O.C.)/1600(O.C.)/1333/1066". I also have corsair dominator which comes with speed 1600 MHz.

    I found option in bios to change ram speed. It was set to 1200+ MHz not I set it to 1500+ and I also have option to set it to 1700+

    + means more than the number before because i don't remember exact number

    My question is if I set it to higher rate (1700+) it will be "overclocked" and could not work properly? And what does 1600(O.C) stands for? I know o.c means overclocked but my ram runs at 1600 (stock) so it's not overclocked. Does it make any difference?

    I also open CPU-z and there is only 620.8 MHz in (DRAM Frequency). Should it be 1600 MHz?

    Does rate speed make any difference? 1333 vs 2000?

  2. #2
    Member Richierichdolla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Harlem NYC
    You wont see any notable difference, only in benchmarking there would be a slight difference just leave it at 1600 MHz O.C. Looks like you ram is 1333 MHz but can be overclocked to more. Also cpu-z shows half of the frequency x2 so for 1333 you should see 666.5 or something like that
    Last edited by Richierichdolla; 06-13-12 at 09:05 AM.
    Cpu -Intel Core I5 2500k ( Hyper 212 Evo)
    MB - AsRock z77 Pro 3 Motherboard
    RAM - Kingston Hyper X DDR3 8GB @ 1600
    SSD - OCZ Agility3 60gb
    HDD - 500gb WD Caviar Blue
    Case - NZXT PHANTOM 410
    GPU - Sapphire 7770 Vapor-x edition.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    What's the current HTT (CPU Bus Frequency)? Better yet... post pic's of CPU-Z open to the CPU, Memory, and SPD tabs.

  4. #4
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    CPU Bus Frequency you mean Bus Speed? It's 232.8 MHz

    Here are ss's

    http://minus.com/lrtgkNNw96n84

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Just leave the DRAM frequency where it's at... DDR3-1552, which is only 24MHz lower than what the modules are rated to run at.

  6. #6
    Registered
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by redduc900 View Post
    Just leave the DRAM frequency where it's at... DDR3-1552, which is only 24MHz lower than what the modules are rated to run at.
    I don't want to bottleneck my system... just kidding thanks for answers

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •