Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL

    Is it possible to update firmware without losing data?

    I recently bought 128GB OCZ Vertex 4 and installed Win 7 on. Currently it has 1.3 firmware and I wanted to know if there is a way to update it to 1.5 without losing the data or reinstalling the OS?

  2. #2
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Looks like you have to be on 1.4+ if you want a non destructive flash to 1.5. AFAIK, there's no real way around what OCZ says about it.

    http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssd_too...and_Agility_4/
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Canada
    It's not the same model, but I updated a vertex 3 max iops and 2 agility 3 without losing any data. It's not guaranteed though. Make your backups and mentally prepare yourself to reformat but it might not be necessary. You'll need to boot from another drive to be able to update it though.
    Main Build
    ASUS Z77 Sabertooth, i7 3770k (Oc'ed to 4.5Ghz)
    4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz class 8
    2x EVGA GTX 670 SC+ (4GB version)
    PSU Corsair HX1000 (1000W)
    Blu-ray drive LITE-On iHOS104-08
    HDD : 1x WD Velociraptor 10000RPM 600GB, 2x WD Black 2TB WD2002FAEX, 1x SG 3TB
    SSD :
    1x OCZ Vertex 3 240Gb MAX IOPS (boot drive)
    1x Agility 3 360Gb, 1x Patriot Pyro 120Gb 1x OCZ Vertex 120Gb
    Monitor : 2x DELL U3011 30" 2560x1600

  4. #4
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Dakyris View Post
    It's not the same model, but I updated a vertex 3 max iops and 2 agility 3 without losing any data. It's not guaranteed though. Make your backups and mentally prepare yourself to reformat but it might not be necessary. You'll need to boot from another drive to be able to update it though.
    No note about destructive updates there: http://www.ocztechnology.com/ssd_tools/SandForce_Based/
    i7-920 3.8 Ghz | Venomous-X w/ Panaflo HS | Sapphire Vapor-X 4890
    EVGA X58 SLI LE | 8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 | 500GB Samsung OEM | Rosewill 850w | Thermaltake Armor Series | OCZ Vertex 2 60GB

    Secondary Rig:
    CM Elite 430 | A8-3870K stock | Radeon HD 6670 | 500GB WD Caviar Blue | 4GB G.SKILL DDR3-1333 | ASUS A55


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Canada
    Yeah I didn't see the notice about the destructive update on the vertex 4 page until AFTER I posted that message. They used to have a similar warning for the vertex 3 (at least for the initial updates) but they weren't always destructive. Since they clearly mention it and the affected versions for the Vertex 4, then there doesn't seem to be any chances that the data would survive. Sorry.
    Main Build
    ASUS Z77 Sabertooth, i7 3770k (Oc'ed to 4.5Ghz)
    4x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz class 8
    2x EVGA GTX 670 SC+ (4GB version)
    PSU Corsair HX1000 (1000W)
    Blu-ray drive LITE-On iHOS104-08
    HDD : 1x WD Velociraptor 10000RPM 600GB, 2x WD Black 2TB WD2002FAEX, 1x SG 3TB
    SSD :
    1x OCZ Vertex 3 240Gb MAX IOPS (boot drive)
    1x Agility 3 360Gb, 1x Patriot Pyro 120Gb 1x OCZ Vertex 120Gb
    Monitor : 2x DELL U3011 30" 2560x1600

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Hong Kong
    Update from 1.3 to 1.4 is destructive. 1.4 to 1.5 is not. No way around it.

    You can create a drive image before the update. After updating successfully you can re-image back on to the drive again. Shouldn't be difficult.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 840
    CPU Cooler: Stock AMD
    MB: Magic-Pro MP-BA500PRO1 (AMD 890GX+SB850)
    Graphic: XFX HD6850 and MSI HD5450
    Ram: ADATA DDR-3 1333 2x4GB
    PSU: Antec NeoECO 520W
    OS: Win 7 x64

  7. #7
    Member Ivy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Cant you just backup the OS to a external HDD and then make a system restore in term of destruction? Generally i would never trust it... firmware is sensitive matter, and in rare terms there could still be a data loss, not every drive might behave properly.
    Most important values: Quality>Price/Performance>Noise Level>GFLOPS/cm3>GFLOPS/W

    Screen/Audio: Panasonic Plasma @1080P + Onkyo NR609. Computer Series Gen Alpha: Every PC may act as a backup for another one.
    Gamer PC: Shuttle SZ77R5 (SFF) modded/I5 3570K @4 Ghz/7870 DCII @1150/1400/Gskill 2x8 GB @1600,1.5V,9,9,9,24, 2T/120 + 240 GB OCZ Vertex 3 MI V. 2.22/750 GB WD 7500BPKT/LiteOn SH-D163B
    Workstation: Gigabyte GA-X58A-OC/I7 990X (stock)/6950 FLEX 2GB (stock)/Mushkin 3x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Crucial M4 V. 0309/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD RE4/Seasonic X-850/Lian Li PC-C60/NH-C12P SE14/LiteOn IHBS112
    HTPC: Asrock Extreme 4-M/I7 3930K (stock)/650Ti AMP! 2GB (stock)/Gskill 4x4 GB @1600,1.5V, 9,9,9,24, 1T/128 GB Samsung 840 PRO/4 TB Hitachi, 2 TB WD Green/Corsair 1200i/Lian Li PC-V354/Phanteks TH-TC14CS/Pioneer BDR-207EBK

    Remember: Its always the monkeys fault!

  8. #8
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Full drive image would be the best way...what neo suggested.

  9. #9
    Premium Member #18 txus.palacios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cádiz (Spain)
    Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Yes, Clonezilla that and call it a day.
    Look at the bright side of it, probably it gives some niiiice performance boost
    Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
    [ more info... ]


    The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
    If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
    I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
    I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras

  10. #10
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Quote Originally Posted by txus.palacios View Post
    Yes, Clonezilla that and call it a day.
    Look at the bright side of it, probably it gives some niiiice performance boost
    I was just about to ask if anyone knows of a free alternative to Symantec Ghost

    Also wanted to ask will I need OS installed on my second HD in order to flash new firmware on my SSD?

  11. #11
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    OCZ has a bootable tool to update firmware, no OS needed.

  12. #12
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Is this the correct one?

  13. #13
    Senior Member Knufire's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Terre Haute, IN
    Benching Profile Heatware Profile
    Yup, it would be the bootable Linux-based tool.

  14. #14
    Senior RAM Pornographer RedDragonXXX's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    So basically I tried like 3-4 different Imaging software and none of them worked properly. Basically I was trying to drop my SSD's image onto the spare drive I had installed but it couldn't be seen for some reason. Clonezilla was the only one that recognized the drive but it couldn't recognize the size so when I tried to dump the image on it it would come back with the error after some time saying that's there's not enough space. I've tried ones with Windows GUI, USB ISO boot, Virtual Box... no luck with either. I just got frustrated so much that I just decided the hell with it and wiped the my SSD and update the firmware without imaging it.

    I did see significant gain in read and write speeds upgrading from 1.3 to 1.5, just hoping that in future there aren't any more destructive firmware upgrades

  15. #15
    Member Bogie's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Priest River, Idaho
    Heatware Profile
    Not to thread crap, but were can i dl the firmware updates, i been trying to find out, i dl'd there tool box but with no os i cant get on the net, ty OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
    Gigabyte Ga-970-ud3
    Amd Fx-6300 20 x 201 @ 4.0-1.3 Vcore
    2x8 Gigs Gskill DDR3 PC3-10700 9-9-9-24-33 1.5
    Evga Heatsink Delta 120 x 25 Delta Fan
    Ocz Vert4 128 gigs- 4 10,000 Rapture Drives
    Corsair Hx 650w Modular-GTX 650 Ti BOOST sc
    Gigabyte Ga-970-ud3
    Amd Fx-6300 20 x 201 @ 4.0-1.3 Vcore
    2x4 GB Crucial DDR PC3-12800 11-11-11-28-39 1.5
    BigShuriken2 w/ 120x25 Delta fan
    OCZ Vertex2 60 gigs-GTX 650 Ti ssc
    Thermaltake TR2 600W Cable Mangement

  16. #16
    Premium Member #18 txus.palacios's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Cádiz (Spain)
    Benching Profile Folding Profile
    Maximus V Gene | i5-2500k @ 4.5GHz (ekHF) | 16GiB | GTX470 SLI @ 800MHz (ekFC) | m4 128GB | Arch + Win8
    [ more info... ]


    The only sound I want to hear out of my computer (unless I'm gaming or watching a movie) is the hum of my 6000 rpm fan pushing air through my heatsink. - Seebs
    If I turn up dead, somebody make sure they put "should have just benched in the cold" on my tombstone, along with my most recent superpi32m score. - I.M.O.G.
    I didn't go water-cooling for an air-cooling Vcore!! - bluezero5
    I'll rm -rf /yourface/* - thideras

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •