Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: LOL Silly idea

  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    70

    LOL Silly idea

    well i tried it and it works haha, I laid a tray full of ice cubes in the bottom of my case and stood 2 80m fans on top of it blowing the coolness from the ice right at my AMd 1800+ and my North bridge
    Motherboard monitor is showing 23 degrees Celcius haha i have no other cooling other than stock HSF on the northbridge and XP CPU. Now if i can just get those ice cubes to stay frozen hahaaha.Oh i have one more fan in the case its an old 100watt power supply fan i raped out of the power supply to be an exhaust fan

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Union City, CA
    Posts
    564
    ocngrats... if you want you can use TEC to simulate the ice. then you'd have constant cold air. aka air chiller.
    2001:
    Duron 600 @ 850 w/ Pencil Mod (100x8.5)
    Cheap Watercooled Kit
    Abit KT7 (non-A, 100mhz FSB)
    256mb Crucial PC100
    Generic 300w PSU
    GeForce 256

    2008:
    E6300 @ 3.2
    8800 GTS 512

  3. #3
    Senior Member Yodums's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    12,405
    Oh I put a icepack in my case to see how long it would last, it stayed in there for like 1min then it melted to death lol
    Peter Gibbons: Let me ask you something. When you come in on Monday, and you're not feelin' real well, does anyone ever say to you, 'Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays'?

    Lawrence: No. No, man. ****, no, man. I believe you'd get your ass kicked sayin' something like that, man.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Joplin Mo, Usa
    Posts
    773
    sure that would suck to have to keep making ice just to work on your pc

    "honey get that next batch of ice ready i am gettin ready to crank up the multipier"

    LOL

  5. #5
    Senior Band Wagon Jumper CrystalMethod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,736
    Originally posted by JoeCrappa
    ocngrats... if you want you can use TEC to simulate the ice. then you'd have constant cold air. aka air chiller.
    Downside to it, is that you have to find some way to keep the other side or the TEC cool.

  6. #6
    Give me a break Senior
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,705
    What if it was mounted at the very edge of the case, so that the hot side was external? That way any fans cooling it would circulate the hot air outside the case instead of just mixing hot and cold inside the case.
    Thank you Baby. I love you.

  7. #7
    Member Darrenct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)
    Posts
    520
    You could always put the TEC on the CPU itself... Just a thought...

  8. #8
    Give me a break Senior
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    5,705
    Originally posted by Darrenct
    You could always put the TEC on the CPU itself... Just a thought...
    That wouldn't cool the air circulating in the case, just the cpu. And unless you have some thin case thing going on then the hot side would also be in the case so taking heat off the cpu would result in dumping some of it in the case. Having a TEC at case edge to cool the air in the case a few degrees isn't really a bad idea.
    Thank you Baby. I love you.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Union City, CA
    Posts
    564
    well just put another HSF on the other side. the reason why people dont just put the TEC onto the CPU is that they'd have to upgrade their cooling because air cannot handle TEC's on AMD machines.and using cold air is simple and effective.
    2001:
    Duron 600 @ 850 w/ Pencil Mod (100x8.5)
    Cheap Watercooled Kit
    Abit KT7 (non-A, 100mhz FSB)
    256mb Crucial PC100
    Generic 300w PSU
    GeForce 256

    2008:
    E6300 @ 3.2
    8800 GTS 512

  10. #10
    Cyber Cheesiest Senior cyber mouse45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    1,069
    I have a dumb question. what's a TEC???
    Avatar: Kan Miyoun
    Rank by: Shadow рс

    My Heatware

  11. #11
    Member Darrenct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)
    Posts
    520
    I know all the implications of using a pelt, I was just being a PITA.

    However, I don't think that using TEC's to cool a case would be anything near cost-effecive. Also, aircooling Athlons is not just a myth. There is a guy who's name eludes me at the moment on this site who has an 80 watt pelt on an XP with fairly good results. An alpha 8045 or a swifty both have enough power to cool up to a 120 watt pelt and possibly more.


  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Union City, CA
    Posts
    564
    Originally posted by Darrenct
    I know all the implications of using a pelt, I was just being a PITA.

    However, I don't think that using TEC's to cool a case would be anything near cost-effecive. Also, aircooling Athlons is not just a myth. There is a guy who's name eludes me at the moment on this site who has an 80 watt pelt on an XP with fairly good results. An alpha 8045 or a swifty both have enough power to cool up to a 120 watt pelt and possibly more.

    this is true. but i was talking about regular t-birds. oh well
    2001:
    Duron 600 @ 850 w/ Pencil Mod (100x8.5)
    Cheap Watercooled Kit
    Abit KT7 (non-A, 100mhz FSB)
    256mb Crucial PC100
    Generic 300w PSU
    GeForce 256

    2008:
    E6300 @ 3.2
    8800 GTS 512

  13. #13
    Member Lt. Max's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Seattle, but im Estonian
    Posts
    2,294
    i read somewehre that air chilling doesnt work..
    <- pic of my college parking spot
    P4 2.4C@3.0, IC-7, 1 gig Buffalo 3700 (200 2-6-2-2)
    9600pro - 400@500/300@310
    Cascade watercooled

  14. #14
    Member Darrenct's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Coeur d'Alene (North Idaho)
    Posts
    520
    If you actually devise an effective way to chill the air, it will work very well. However, getting the air cold enough to make a big difference without condensation problems will cost you $$$

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •