Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23
  1. #1
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012

    i7-3770k + Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 Overclocking help

    Hello!

    Help needed her folks..

    Ive not been able to overclock my cpu yet, tried many things but it wont go over 35x multiplier.

    Bios is F10

    My settings is:
    CPU Clock Ratio: 39x (for some reason, it seems to be restricted to only 39x???) (100X39)

    BCLK/DMI/PEG Clock Control: Disabled
    System Memory Multiplier: Auto
    Memory Frequency: 1866 MHz

    Advanced Core

    PWM Frequency Control: Auto
    CPU Over Current Protection: Auto
    Internal CPU PLL Overvoltage: Auto
    Intel Turbo Boost Tech: Disabled
    CPU Cores Enabled: All
    CPU Multi-Threading: Enabled
    CPU Enhanced Halt (C1E): Disabled
    C3/C6 State Support: Disabled
    CPU Thermal Monitor: Auto
    CPU EIST Funcion: Disabled
    Bi-Directional PROCHOT: Auto

    VCore is raised to 1.25v (and this works).

    Both BIOS and CPU-Z says that its running on 3.5GHz and 35x Multiplier..

    What to doo?

  2. #2
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Eanble turbo boost... that is how these chips overclock.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Eanble turbo boost... that is how these chips overclock.
    Okey, Turbo boost is now enabled, its now at 3.7GHz "stock" turbo speed, however, multiplier is still sat to 39 in bios, but its now doing only 37 in "turbo mode"..

  4. #4
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Try enabling EIST...

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Port Moody BC "West Coast Canada"
    p67 and h68 chipset do not yet support overclocking of the Ivy Bridge K chips, it is a bios limitation. None of the manufactures have yet produced a bios that can allow unlocking of the multiplier, the 3570K is limited to 38 and the 3770k is limited to 39

    I am building a new box and this was the sole reason I sold the 3570K chip I had picked up in favor of a 2700k because I am gonna use a GB P67-A UD7-B3 unless I sell it. The board will support the chip but not allow unlocking the multi past 38

  6. #6
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    That seems to be board specific. I can most certainly overclock past those multi's on a MIVE(P67)...In fact with a 3570k Im sitting at 4.2Ghz as we speak.

    This board though may have that hang up. I dont have one though to confirm/deny. Worst case OP, reset your bios to factory settings and just try to up the multi. If that doesnt work, than this board may have that problem. You can try updating the bios as there is a newer one available.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  7. #7
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    EarthDog: EIST enabled, still at 37x.. :S

    Cisco Kid: Also Z68 boards then?

  8. #8
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Looking at CPU-Z it now jumps from 16x -> 22x -> 35x -> 37x depending on load it seems, but not up to 39x

  9. #9
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Gigabyte is supposed to be working on an updated BIOS revision that deals w/ the IB multiplier limitation on their Z68-based boards.

  10. #10
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Could it be the new UEFI bios?

    Im trying to upgrade to UEFI now, but that flashefi tool included have no intrest of co-operating with me :S

    Cant install on 64bit, and ive now added another HDD and installed 32bit W7, but heys, NTVDM.EXE has stopped working.. Really funny :P

    Is there any other ways to safely flash the new bios?

  11. #11
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Updated to UEFI, all problems have dissapeared. Running at 4.3GHz on a passive cooler stable now. (ThermalRight TRUE Copper)

  12. #12
    Quote Originally Posted by cod3gen View Post
    Updated to UEFI, all problems have dissapeared. Running at 4.3GHz on a passive cooler stable now. (ThermalRight TRUE Copper)
    I was just wondering what the procedure is for updating To the UEFI bios?
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  13. #13
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Downloaded the update from gigabyte, and had to run the tool in DOS;
    1. Downloaded Hirens Boot CD and burned it out on a CD
    2. Then i burned out the unzipped update from gigabyte
    3. Then put in hirens cd and restart and boot hirens and select DOS w/ CD Drivers
    4. Put in the CD with the update from Gigabyte
    5. Go to CD Drive in dos, in my case D:\
    6. Run the tool; autoexec.bat
    7. The tool will use a couple minutes installing UEFI and then come with a message of shutdown and remove power cord and plug it back in after a few seconds, and power up the computer again and wheys, UEFI should work

  14. #14
    Quote Originally Posted by cod3gen View Post
    Downloaded the update from gigabyte, and had to run the tool in DOS;
    1. Downloaded Hirens Boot CD and burned it out on a CD
    2. Then i burned out the unzipped update from gigabyte
    3. Then put in hirens cd and restart and boot hirens and select DOS w/ CD Drivers
    4. Put in the CD with the update from Gigabyte
    5. Go to CD Drive in dos, in my case D:\
    6. Run the tool; autoexec.bat
    7. The tool will use a couple minutes installing UEFI and then come with a message of shutdown and remove power cord and plug it back in after a few seconds, and power up the computer again and wheys, UEFI should work
    Thanks i gave the UEFI a try and it did not work, so i had to go back to F11 bios.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

  15. #15
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Okey, what went wrong? Only thing thats wrong with me now is that sleep mode wont work properly, but it didnt work properly before update either.

  16. #16
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Sooooooooo nothing? No change, right? Sleep is a notorious issue with this gen of chips.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  17. #17
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    No change with what?

    If your talking about the overclocking, it works as it should now. No problem to overclock CPU, its at 4.3GHz now, so also that 39 multiplier limit diapered with UEFI update

  18. #18
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    You said "Ok what went wrong", then proceed to talk about the sleep STILL being borked, so I replied, "nothing" since the same thing that was 'broken' is still broken.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  19. #19
    Registered
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Only the sleep function that wont work yes, overclocking no problem any more.

    The thing with the sleep function is that well, it goes to sleep, but starts automatic up again after a couple seconds

    For the line what went wrong was meant for wingman99 since he said i had problems and had to go back to F11 again

  20. #20
    Quote Originally Posted by cod3gen View Post
    Okey, what went wrong? Only thing thats wrong with me now is that sleep mode wont work properly, but it didnt work properly before update either.
    I was unable to use the BIOS menu to change settings and the f12 boot screen I was unable to pick boot order. I tried two different keyboards no luck.

    Also my CPU fan was completely off.


    For your sleep mode In power management with the network did you select no wakeup? In power management did you disable wake timers?
    Last edited by wingman99; 08-05-12 at 05:05 PM.
    i5 2500K
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z68A-D3-B3
    G.SKILL RipjawsX X.M.P. 1600MHz
    EVGA SuperClocked GTX 570

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •