Results 1 to 19 of 19
  1. #1

    Visiblegorilla's new A10 with DDR3-2400

    Hi everyone, I look forward to being an active member here! I'm really excited about my new build using the "Trinity" A10-5800K APU. The price/performance ratio of this new chip is completely unheard of! I'll be focusing first on the closely tied RAM and GPU component of the chip through the CPU Northbridge. As you probably know by now, the graphics performance scales linearly (directly) with the RAM speed. I want to find out what kind of performance can be had when running at DDR3-2400 with an overclocked GPU core, and then later pairing this APU with a GDDR5 6670 card.

    System Build:
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3 2400 Model F3-2400C10D-16GTX
    APU: AMD A10-5800K Trinity 3.8GHz (4.2GHz Turbo) Socket FM2 AD580KWOHJBOX
    MB: ASRock FM2A85X Extreme6 (Hudson D4)
    HSF: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus RR-B10-212P-G1
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 VTX4-25SAT3-128G
    PSU: COOLMAX ZX Series ZX-500
    Case: XCLIO 320 ATX Mid Tower
    DVD: ASUS 24X DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS
    Fans: 2x Rosewill RFX-120BL 120mm, 2x XIGMATEK CLF-F1453 140mm






    Overclocking the RAM and GPU was so simple I thought I was doing it wrong. Just a couple mouse clicksand the RAM went to 2133, GPU to 1013. No other adjustments needed; Auto voltages, Intel XMP taking care of the RAM timings, and it ran OpenGL and Direct3D games all day long with no issues.

    I've played around a bit in the BIOS trying to run this 2400 RAM at 2400. Windows wouldn't boot stably until the Northbridge voltage was raised to 1.21875 (from 1.175 stock), and Firefox kept crashing until 1.28125 volts were applied. CPU and GPU clocks were kept stock through all this. (EDIT: the latest 1.50 BIOS fixes this issue under Auto voltage settings).

    This hardware is phenomenal, and the manufacturers want to impress (thanks ASRock). Look for some more benchmarks soon.
    Last edited by visiblegorilla; 11-16-12 at 09:05 PM.

  2. #2

    WEI and Prime95/HWMonitor Results

    WEI score


    Prime95 running after 20 minutes, HWMonitor running


    Idle after Prime95 run


    The CPU and MB temps seem correct. I have no idea what the 63 C reading was for. The idle pic above shows the CPU temp drop down after the run, so that checks out.
    Last edited by visiblegorilla; 11-16-12 at 07:51 PM.

  3. #3

    Cinebench scores and updated WEI

    Just did a few Cinebench 11.5 runs, here's the current settings:
    Core Speed 3.8 GHz
    Turbo Core 4.4 GHz
    vCore Up to 1.44V
    RAM DDR3-2400
    GPU Clock 1169 MHz

    And the results:


    Got another point in WEI after boosting the RAM from 2133 to 2400 and GPU core to from 1013 to 1169!


    And believe me, there's more room in this chip, just how much is the question. Everything is still on "Auto" in the BIOS, and it seems to be providing ample voltage at this point, but I should be able to eke out a little more MHz with some manual settings. At 4.4GHz, I observed a couple cores downclocking to 3.8 and even 3.4GHz at times while running Cinebench. vCore never went above 1.44 volts though, so first I'll try increasing that and see if I get more stability there before trying for 4.5GHz and beyond. I'm comfortable with NB voltage where it's at; here on Auto it's pegged at 1.437V even at idle. Not trying to push that too much right now, at least until I can figure out which of the 37 overclocking utilities this system came with is keeping it pegged instead of allowing it to drop to 1.2 at idle like it used to...
    Last edited by visiblegorilla; 11-16-12 at 07:12 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    I am not sure how much airflow your fan has, but you might consider a rear case fan by the rear I/o ports. The VRM heatsink on this board gets incredibly hot under load. Hot enough that I measured 68c other other day. after i burned myself on it.
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  5. #5
    So THAT must be the sensor that always reads 60-63c in HWMonitor. Well, if you look at the first pic on the top post there, you'll see the two green 140mm fans; they're actually aimed downward pushing air into the case, and the back edge of the rear one lines up perfectly over the VRM heatsink, giving it plenty of fresh air. The two blue 120mm fans in the front are also pushing air inward. The air just exits the case through the huge grilles in the side panel and the empty fan slot in the back. It works out to 250 CFM for the four fans at full speed. The PSU fan pulls air from under the case and blows out the back, so it's basically isolated and doesn't factor in.

    I just did some math: The interior volume of the case, minus the PSU, DVD, and HDD, is about 1.45 cu. ft. At 250 CFM (theoretically anyway), that means the entire case is filled with fresh air 2.9 times per second! I know, that would only really be accurate if I had 250 CFM intake AND 250 CFM exhaust...

    PS thanks for the post! It was getting lonely talking to myself in here. I'll have some more benchmarks and overclocks in a little while, I'm experiencing quite a bit of FAIL trying to get the CPU stable at 4.5 GHz. I know it's all this different software screwing around, because even setting voltages manually, disabling C'n'Q, Thermal Throttle, Turbo Boost, yadda yadda in the BIOS, the **** magically turns back on because SOMEONE (looking at you, AMD OverDrive, AMD Fusion, and AXTU) decides it should really stay on anyways, and what I meant by 1.475 volts was surely 1.44 volts at the very most. So there's that.
    Last edited by visiblegorilla; 11-16-12 at 07:40 PM.

  6. #6
    Overclocked Moderator
    Overclockers.com Lead Editor

    Lvcoyote's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Omak, WA
    Author Profile Heatware Profile
    Disable Core Boost, and turn off the C6 state in BIOS, then set your CPU multiplier manually. This will keep the CPU at a constant level of your choosing.
    ASUS Maximus VI Impact, i7-4770K, G.Skill TridentX 2X8Gb DDR3-2400, EVGA GTX 750 Ti, EVGA Hadron Hydro w/EVGA Hadron Hydro Water Cooling Kit, Samsung 840 EVO 500 Gb SSD, WD Caviar 500 Gb HDD, Panasonic UJ8C5 Slot Load DVD Burner, Windows 8.1 Pro X64/Linux Mint 16 X64

    Heatware

  7. #7
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    manual multipliers dont current work on that board lvcoyote, its borken in the current bios revisions, unless you want to go into the oc software and constantly fix the power states, even then for 2400mhz ram on this board the NB frequency is wrong aswell. Asrock is in the process of fixing this currently should be resolved in the next stable release.

    As for the sensor there is none that reports that, I used a external IR probe to get that temperature. The VRM doesn't have an externaly monitored line on it. Just one that is watched by the driver chips, which don't spazz till they they hit around 90c. Which already affects the voltage output curve traditionaly on most mosfets.

    Hopefully I will have some time tomorrow to bench, this week has been out of control busy. Then I;ll pop up some pages of known good settings for that board for getting around stuff that doesnt work. Ie nb frequency bugs and FCH PLL instability on a85x chipset.
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  8. #8
    I must admit that I left C6 on in the BIOS; I'm a little ignorant sometimes. But TJ, man, you're kicking ass over there! It's thanks to you we have this 1.50 BIOS with the "improve memory compatibility" or whatever they call it. Cheers! Also, I'm sure I'm not the only one who was disappointed with the 512MB share for video memory, but I'd like to think they're listening to me too
    APU: AMD A10-5800K
    HSF: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    MB: ASRock FM2A85X Extreme6
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident X (2x 8GB) DDR3-2400
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128G

  9. #9
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by visiblegorilla View Post
    I must admit that I left C6 on in the BIOS; I'm a little ignorant sometimes. But TJ, man, you're kicking ass over there! It's thanks to you we have this 1.50 BIOS with the "improve memory compatibility" or whatever they call it. Cheers! Also, I'm sure I'm not the only one who was disappointed with the 512MB share for video memory, but I'd like to think they're listening to me too
    I can't take credit for this, they did that on their own, the only things they added to that bios for me, is that it shows the memory frequency when playing with the bclk instead of it just showing the default number. That and it kinda works with multipliers now if you leave the powermanagement on (not clean and quiet)
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  10. #10
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    Hey I ran into something interesting about this board today Visibile that I thought you would be interested in, Turns out the Board likes to default the IGP voltage to extremely low. IE at times sub 1.2v (which is often the spec voltage, but can be set differently by the Internal settings from the cpu).

    Ran into this while trying to get Heaven to to run at default settings 800mhz/1200mhz. Stock voltages. Which should yeild a effective run. Not a bsd which was resulting in. Quick easy fix was to up the voltage in the bios. I know for a fact that the internal IGP voltage of this chip is suppose to be closer to 1.27v not 1.19-1.20v.
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  11. #11
    Yeah, it seems under Auto the NB voltage would usually idle at 0.9V and jump up to about 1.3-1.4 under load. Ran this way for awhile, but it was a bit unstable. Now I have it manually set at 1.45V. It's the only way I can play Skyrim without it crashing. Got temps up as high as 50C at one point; VCore is at 1.45V too most of the time, although it is still Auto with turbo boost set to 4.5GHz. The instability I experienced was not a heat problem, it was a power problem, with too big a dip in voltage resulting in Skyrim having a massive coronary and kicking me to the desktop. LLC has been set at 80% for both CPU and NB for a few weeks now. OHM is showing a Max vCore of 2.04V last night while gaming, I'm a little worried about bringing LLC down to 60% and basically hitting the CPU with a defibrillator when load jumps up... Seems a little drastic...
    APU: AMD A10-5800K
    HSF: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    MB: ASRock FM2A85X Extreme6
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident X (2x 8GB) DDR3-2400
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128G

  12. #12
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    I'd jump the IGP voltage up more rather than push the nb at this point on your setup. Thats probably the source of the voltage problems. You could also use Stilts TCIK2 interface to enable what he calls "powermode" which prevents the IGP on the card from changing power states. Which will reduce stuttering in games.
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  13. #13
    BENCHMARKS!

    4.5GHz CPU, 1250MHz GPU:


    4.5GHz CPU, 1230MHz GPU:


    4.5GHz CPU, 1215MHz GPU:


    4.5GHz CPU, 1200MHz GPU:


    4.5GHz CPU, 1166MHz GPU:


    4.4GHz CPU, 1150MHz GPU:


    4.4GHz CPU, 1133MHz GPU:


    4.5GHz CPU, 1100MHz GPU:


    4.4GHz CPU, 1100MHz GPU:


    4.4GHz CPU, 1100MHz GPU, Dual Displays (extended desktop):


    The most interesting thing about all this is how identical the scores were for slightly different clocks. ANY graphics clock from 1100-1166 MHz produced identical scores, and ANY graphics clock from 1200-1250 MHz did too.

    Another important thing is that the best physics score was obtained with the CPU at 4.5GHz and the GPU at 1200MHz. 1200+MHz GPU was where the highest NB/GFX voltage was used, so apparently that helps curb memory errors as well as graphics errors (duh).

    I've been running the GPU voltage at 1.435-1.44 almost all the time now. Buuut Skyrim really loves 1.45V to the NB/GFX, so since these benchmarks that voltage has been pegged at 1.450 and GPU is set to 1200. I just turn the GPU clock down to 800-1000 when not playing games.

    EDIT: The CPU clock is a Turbo Core setting. Base clock is 3800, level 0/1 Turbo Core set to 4400 or 4500. Could not get 4600 stable (yet!)
    Last edited by visiblegorilla; 12-17-12 at 07:12 PM.
    APU: AMD A10-5800K
    HSF: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus
    MB: ASRock FM2A85X Extreme6
    RAM: G.SKILL Trident X (2x 8GB) DDR3-2400
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 4 128G

  14. #14
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    not bad, its a tiny bit above my review score of 2062, @ 1267/4600 Though the bclk and lower memory timings will sure contribute to that (running 2666mhz ram at the the wrong speed with the high timing allways adds up somewhere.

    results here

    If your jumping IGP frequency without using the bclk to change the increments your not actually setting the speed. Most of the time the frequency jumps in 100ish mhz incrments increments at 100mhz bclk outside the first step from. First steps like 800 - 967ish i think.
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  15. #15
    Member azanimefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    from what i've seen about this chip, it really responds well to great ram. This might be something to look into... what ram it works with better, and so forth. Some of the numbers i've seen indicate the right ram can contribute to a 30% improvement in Graphics scores on those benches.

    Which only makes sense, since the GPU does use the system memory it will need faster ram to work better. One of the features of the duel graphics is no matter what your version of the 6670 you've got, it will default the system to use the video ram on the card. So a 6670 with 1gb of GDDR5 ram would be an ideal mate to this system to pull the most performance out of the graphics engine.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 965 OC 3.8GHz
    MB: Asus M4A78T-E
    RAM: G.Skill 8gb DDR3 1600
    GPU: MSI HD 7770 OC/GHz Ed. 1GB GDDR5
    HD: 2 Seagate Barracuda 40GB in RAID 0
    HD: 1 WD Black 250gb
    Case: Antec Nine-Hundred Two
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)

    Folding User Stats

  16. #16
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    Main limiting factors for GPU performance are ram timings and HT speed
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  17. #17
    Member azanimefan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Phoenix, Az
    Quote Originally Posted by TsunamiJuan View Post
    Main limiting factors for GPU performance are ram timings and HT speed
    i thought AMD dropped HyperTransport in the Trinity... maybe i'm mistaken.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 965 OC 3.8GHz
    MB: Asus M4A78T-E
    RAM: G.Skill 8gb DDR3 1600
    GPU: MSI HD 7770 OC/GHz Ed. 1GB GDDR5
    HD: 2 Seagate Barracuda 40GB in RAID 0
    HD: 1 WD Black 250gb
    Case: Antec Nine-Hundred Two
    OS: Windows 7 Ultimate (x64)

    Folding User Stats

  18. #18
    Member
    TsunamiJuan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Soviet Mexico
    Benching Profile
    Sorry NB-Frequency not HT, old habits die hard. Unlike the llanos you can control the NB frequency on Trinitys
    Get the hot dogs out, this baby's going up in Flames!!!
    Keeper Of The VaseAtone™
    Bobnova: humans need SMART functionality
    Deanzo: Matts hat is too high a res for the video feed, that is the issue

    Currently Doing Stupid OC tricks with A10 5800k @ A85X chipset
    Asus M4N82 nforce980a mb, Phenom II 940 be @ 6000.1mhz (Bobnova'd) , 4gb DDR2 1066
    Gigabyte a75-ud4h , 3870k @ 6016.7mhz, 2.358vcore
    Asus MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5899.7mhz Benching Rig *RIP* Died doing what it did best
    ASUS MIVE, i7 2600k @ 5.2ghz 1.49vcore, noctua NH-D14 2000
    AMD e350 Cold Fusion - IceCream Special Ln2 Pot (the most fun you can have 130$ and ln2)

  19. #19
    Atomichearse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Wichita, KS
    Folding Profile
    Overclock the RAM and see what happens?
    Intel i5-2500 | HIS Radeon HD 7950 IceQ Turbo
    Seasonic Gold X750 | Corsair H70
    128GB OCZ Vertex 4 | 128GB Samsung 840 Pro
    16GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1648 Mhz 8-8-8-1T| ASUS P8Z68-V LX
    Corsair Obsidian 650D |

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •