Results 1 to 16 of 16
  1. #1
    Member boosteeddc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winter garden FL
    Posts
    417

    Asus m5a97 wont boot

    so i just bought this new motherboard to work with a extra fx6100 sitting around, i have everything set up on my test bench everything plugged in, when i tried to put the screw driver on the pwr pins to power it on, nothin turns on, just one of the fans connected to the powersupply molex made a lil tiny movement, but the motherboard power led is lite up green, where should i start troubleshooting this?
    case: corsair 800D
    mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
    cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
    ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
    cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
    psu: corsair hx750
    HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
    gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
    10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
    scythe 6 channel fan controller

  2. #2
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    I would start by unplugging all connections on the power supply and doing the paperclip trick (green wire to any black wire) to see if the power supply turns on. If it does, hook everything back up, make sure it is secure, and try again.
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  3. #3
    Member boosteeddc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winter garden FL
    Posts
    417
    so your saying its the power supply? well i can say for sure its good, only had it for like 2 months, powering my other rig on this test bench thats maybe used once in a week, and was working it before i put this mobo on, any other suggestions?
    case: corsair 800D
    mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
    cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
    ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
    cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
    psu: corsair hx750
    HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
    gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
    10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
    scythe 6 channel fan controller

  4. #4
    Senior DFI Staff RGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    JAX, Mississauna
    Posts
    9,381
    He said to test the power supply not that it 'was' surely bad.

    I would make sure there is no power from power supply to the mobo and then clear the CMOS and then RE-power the board and see if it will boot.

    There are only two Leds for troubleshooting on that cheaper mobo and one says if the board has +5V standbye power and the other close to the ram slots are supposed to indicate if the ram is giving problems. So no real set of troubleshooting LEDS.
    You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
    MOBO > Model and Bios version.
    CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
    MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
    POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
    VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
    HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
    SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
    USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
    O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
    Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
    Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers

  5. #5
    Member boosteeddc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winter garden FL
    Posts
    417
    yes ive done all of that, still no luck, ive had experiences with this board, hated it back then, but bought a brand new one again cause it was cheap. being one of the weird boards without onboard graphics, lets say if the cpu was bad, would it still boot with a bad cpu or no? can anyone answer this?
    case: corsair 800D
    mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
    cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
    ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
    cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
    psu: corsair hx750
    HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
    gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
    10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
    scythe 6 channel fan controller

  6. #6
    Senior DFI Staff RGone's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    JAX, Mississauna
    Posts
    9,381
    Will not boot with a bad cpu.
    You May Need Help = We Need Info to Help.
    MOBO > Model and Bios version.
    CPU & Cooler > Be Specific.
    MEMORY > Manufacturer & P/N & Size.
    POWER SUPPLY > Manufacturer & Wattage.
    VIDEO CARD > Make/Model/How Many.
    HDDs/Optical drives > How Many? SSD? Raid/No Raid?
    SOUND DEVICE > Onboard or Add-in?
    USB > Usb Devices Plugged to Mobo?
    O/S > Win? SP? Linux?
    Case > Brand/Model/Fans Installed?
    Institute of Level Headed Over Clockers

  7. #7
    Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
    Premium Member #3
    First Responders
    thideras's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Dakota
    Posts
    31,370
    Quote Originally Posted by boosteeddc View Post
    yes ive done all of that, still no luck
    If you have run the power supply jump test, what happened?
    Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
    VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
    VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
    8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
    Router: Dell R410 | E5620 | 32 GB RAM | 3x 300 GB | pfsense
    "That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
    "Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

    Current projects: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
    Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
    My Website


    Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!

  8. #8
    Member boosteeddc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winter garden FL
    Posts
    417
    Quote Originally Posted by thideras View Post
    If you have run the power supply jump test, what happened?
    no im sorry i didnt do that, but this power supply was working fine with my other rig, and i tested it with the other one again, still works like it suppose to. i should feel pretty confident with the psu as of now no?
    case: corsair 800D
    mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
    cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
    ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
    cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
    psu: corsair hx750
    HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
    gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
    10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
    scythe 6 channel fan controller

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    448
    As this board doesn't take advantage of standoffs along the edge it's pretty flexible. Is your memory well-seated?

  10. #10
    Member boosteeddc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winter garden FL
    Posts
    417
    yes just 1 stick of 4gb vengeance i took out of my main rig, as ive had experience with this board in the past, it'll boot and if memory was not well seated it'll just throw the red led dim for the rams
    case: corsair 800D
    mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
    cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
    ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
    cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
    psu: corsair hx750
    HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
    gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
    10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
    scythe 6 channel fan controller

  11. #11
    Boulard83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Quebec - Canada
    Posts
    3,471
    Bios update ?

    CPU QVL / PCB / BIOS ver.
    FX-6100(FD6100WMW6KGU),3.3GHz,6C,95W,rev.B2G,AM3+ / ALL / 0815

    Sometime with AMD you need an older already supported CPU to put in the socket, then update bios to latest, then reinstall newest CPU, boot !
    Boulard83 @ OvercloQc.com
    BTTB
    Gigabyte Z87X-OC WCed 4770k 2x8gb Ballistix 1600mhz cas8 Zotac GTX 780 Asus Xonar Pheobus
    OS Toshiba Q 256gb Games 2x Agility 4 256gb Raid0 Corsair HX850 Tecnofront HWD BenchTable Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

    HTPC Gigabyte H77m-D3H G2020 NT-06 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz Asus GTX 650 TI SB Recon3D
    X25-m 80gb Enermax 550w Lian Li PC-C60B

    Server Asus Z77m PRO 2500K NH-C12P 4x4gb G.Skill Ares 1600mhz
    Agility 4 128gb Corsair CX430M 2X 1TB Black 1x 2TB green

    KatPat Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 FX-8320 PH-TC14CS 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz GTS 450 + Accelero L2 Plus
    Samsung Evo 120gb Corsair HX750 Bitfenix Survivor White Asus VE247H

  12. #12
    Senior Member trents's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Centralia, WA
    Posts
    13,918
    Quote Originally Posted by Boulard83 View Post
    Bios update ?

    CPU QVL / PCB / BIOS ver.
    FX-6100(FD6100WMW6KGU),3.3GHz,6C,95W,rev.B2G,AM3+ / ALL / 0815

    Sometime with AMD you need an older already supported CPU to put in the socket, then update bios to latest, then reinstall newest CPU, boot !
    You beat met to it.
    CPU: i7 2600k@4.6 ghz
    Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe b3
    Cooler: Swiftech H320
    RAM: 16 (4x4) gb Team Group Vulcan 2400 mhz @ 2176 mhz / 11-13-13-35-2T
    GPU: Sapphire Radeon 7870
    Case: NZXT Source 530
    PSU: OCZ 750W
    Storage: Segate 480 gb SSD + 2x300 gb WD Velociraptors


    Jesus said, "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father but through me". John 14:6

  13. #13
    Member boosteeddc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winter garden FL
    Posts
    417
    well ive had this fx6100 paired with the same mobo before and worked like a charm, but i guess its different for every one then? so now id have to get my hands on a older amd cpu......
    case: corsair 800D
    mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
    cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
    ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
    cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
    psu: corsair hx750
    HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
    gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
    10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
    scythe 6 channel fan controller

  14. #14
    Godzilla to ant hills caddi daddi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4,755
    what bios version do you have, we can go look at the asus site and see if you have the one you need.
    It looks like you need 810 or above.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    448
    From previous experiences I've only ever seen lack of BIOS support result in failure to POST not failure to remain on but who knows .

  16. #16
    Member boosteeddc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    winter garden FL
    Posts
    417
    well it wont boot, so i cant even see which bio its got, but ive had this same exact board before with this cpu.. argh, and i lost my receipt, and i bought it from POS customer service compusa.
    case: corsair 800D
    mobo: Z77 SABERTOOTH
    cpu: i7 3770k 4.5ghz
    ram: vengeance 8gb 1600mhz
    cooling: xspc raystorm,swiftech mcp655B,danger den acrylic res, xspc ex240 rad push/pull, swiftech 360rad push/pull, 1/2 3/4fittings all around, koolance drain port.
    psu: corsair hx750
    HDD: crucial m4 + WD BLK caviar
    gpu: gigabyte gtx680 + hydro copper block
    10 x NZXT fn-120rb 2 x NZXT fn-140rb
    scythe 6 channel fan controller

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •