• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclock Heat issues.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

huntinman13

Registered
Hey I am new to the Over Clocking world and had a Question I hope ya'll could answer. I have had my PC for about a month and It used to run a lot cooler. I haven't changed any settings and I changed the thermal paste twice after I started having the heat issues. I could really use some advice.

Attachments

• OverClock Data.PNG
    OverClock Data.PNG
    391.8 KB · Views: 53
  • New OverClock Data.PNG
    New OverClock Data.PNG
    153.5 KB · Views: 48
Last edited:
You need to give us more time to respond. I certainly don't sit on the forums all day and I just got out of class. Your thread will be seen. ;)

If it ran cooler on a fresh install, Windows may have been doing some housecleaning in the background, which slowed the benchmark and lowered the temperatures.

Push on the top of the heatsink to give it more pressure. If temperatures drop, you don't have it tightened enough.

If that doesn't help, do another reseat to see how the thermal paste is being spread. Don't wipe off the old stuff as it tells you how it was seated. For example, if there is an area that doesn't have thermal paste (either on the processor or heatsink), that tells you it wasn't installed right.

It could also be because of higher ambient temperatures. Take the side panel off your case and see if temperatures drop. If they do, your case flow isn't enough to keep up.