• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ssd alignment question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

soulwatch5

So finally jumping on the ssd bandwagon and had a question or two about it before I go ahead and switch out my main drive for the ssd.

So what I was planning on doing was just cloning my hd to the ssd but was then told that it was safer to just do a fresh install since cloning to ssd can cause alignment issues and/or other problems.

Alright fine but I'm a noob and started thinking what does it mean for an ssd to be alignined properly and why would cloning a drive mess it up? In fact why would a fresh install prevent alignment issues in the first place?

Yes I know these are probably things I should know already but I don't and since this forum is filled with so many smarter people than I, figured you guys could help me out.

Thanks in advance.

What kind of ssd do you have?, if you buy a Intel 520 or a Crucial m4 ssd, they come with a data transfer kid that will let you safety transfer your data from your old hdd to your ssd with no problem at all, i did that with my laptop, been working ok for the last 3 month, no problem at all.

Got an intel 520 ssd but bought oem from a member on this forum so no software was included. Probably can just download it from their site though I'm guessing.

Most major cloning software has been updated for SSDs to keep the alignment.

Alignment was a problem with XP. If you let XP create the partition to install windows it was not aligned correctly. This was fixed in Vista/7/8.

Another reason people say to do a fresh install is Vista/7/8 will recognize you have an SSD and change some settings. Cloning and then running Windows Experience Index should also change these settings.