• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob Overclocking question I5 3570K

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BigBud

Registered
Hello all,
I'm new at this and I don't want to ruin anything or give myself unnecessary work. I'm wanting to overclock my I5 3570K and was getting ready to start doing so when I realized I have 16gb of corsair dominator 1600mhz on the way from amazon. (Right now I have 4gb of memory) Does my DDR3 have anything to do with me overclocking my I5?:screwy:
Can I overclock now or should I wait for my new ddr3 to get here?
Sorry about the noob question.
BigBud

Is there any specific reason why? or is it just a personal preference? Me, I have no idea and that's why I'm asking. I'm going to wait because it gets here on Tuesday and that isn't to far from now.
Thanks for the reply, I know it isn't the brightest of questions but im just trying to learn as I go.
Thanks again,
BigBud
Also, how do you get all your pc info under your post? I cant seem to figure it out. I don't see anything for a signature or anything. Maybe im looking to hard or not hard enough.

Welcome to the forums bigbud. If you are planning on overclocking you are going to need an aftermarket CPU cooler if you do not have one already. You should also list the components in your system so we can better help you. As far as waiting for your new ram to come the advice that Illphill said about waiting is a good idea. More memory can sometimes cause more instability. A stable overclock that you may be able to get your chip to with the 4 g memory installed may not be stable with the 16g. You should read this thread, while you are waiting.

I figured out how to do the signature and all my pc's info should be under the post now.
Thanks for your reply.
BigBud