Page 36 of 36 FirstFirst ... 26 35 36
Results 701 to 720 of 720
  1. #701
    Member Aldakoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    Lol, I can't buy anything right now though. The lady person that I live with wants a couch, and now the washing machine decided it was a good day to die.

    Might need to sell that NAS... :P
    ......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
    .FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
    ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
    CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
    ...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
    .PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
    .................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
    120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
    500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
    500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
    .GS600 PSU HX850i

  2. #702
    New Member LitlJay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Kingwood,TX
    You can get one heck of a nice sectional AND a top of the line washer for what that NAS will pull down. Just make her stop there!

    My "lady person" wants a new car and can't decide between a SRX or an Enclave. Oh, my aching budget!

  3. #703
    New Member slamscaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    God I would love to have that NAS to sell... Then again, I'd be so tempted to keep it as well. Decisions decisions. Right now, my vehicle needs some maintenance so it's my priority unfortunately. I'd love to keep this Linksys router because it's an absolute beast. But my current Archer C8 AC router does just fine for my modest home network, so like I said.... Priorities....

  4. #704
    New Member slamscaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    This is the first hard drive I've been offered to review in AGES and of course it's only 120GB... At least it's an SSD. Why couldn't it have been the 240GB or 960GB model? Too small for an OS drive but I guess I can install a few games on it at least...

  5. #705
    Member Aldakoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    What do you mean too small for an OS? I'm running on a 120GB OS drive...:P ... I do wish it was bigger.
    ......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
    .FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
    ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
    CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
    ...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
    .PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
    .................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
    120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
    500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
    500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
    .GS600 PSU HX850i

  6. #706
    New Member slamscaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldakoopa View Post
    What do you mean too small for an OS? I'm running on a 120GB OS drive...:P ... I do wish it was bigger.
    Well I run Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and it tends to eat up a lot of space (the sysWOW64 folder can grow quite large over time). This is a new build and I only have two games installed right now to my OS drive, and I'm already eating up 420GB! And ALL of my media, except for a few pictures are stored on separate drives. Of course, one of those games is GTA V and it eats up around 65GB on it's own, lol.

    But I'm still happy to test this SSD. I'll probably use it as a slave drive and install the games I'm currently playing onto it. I haven't been gaming much at all over the last year and a half, but I just bought GTA V so I'm playing it more and more now. Plus I also have Witcher 3 when I got it free with my GTX 970, so that will be another game I'll likely start playing soon.

    P.S. Just as an example, my "program files(x86)" folder is eating up 114GB right now on it's own and I swear I don't have a lot of programs installed as this is a new build. My current Windows folder is eating up another 22GB and that will only grow as the sysWOW64 folder grows. It takes a heck of a lot of maintenance to keep your installation streamlined, which is something I don't want to bother with too much beyond using CCleaner every so often.
    Last edited by slamscaper; 05-09-15 at 08:07 AM.

  7. #707
    Registered balroger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    USA
    Folding Profile
    Very much depends what you're doing with your machine, I have an HTPC which uses a 60Gb SSD as its boot drive with no issues. My Laptop has a 250GB SSD but I have all my large programs (Skyrim and Steam stuff) installed on the secondary 1TB HDD. I just put a 250GB M.2 drive onto a GA-Z97X-UD5H mobo, and that thing goes like s&@t off a shovel. Windows 8.1 installed on that from a USB 3.0 flash drive in about 15 minutes.
    Main Server and Video Compressor:
    AMD Phenom II 1050T 3.4GHz on a MSI 760GM-P35,
    On board Radeon 3000 (essentially run remotely from a laptop)
    16 GB (4x4GB) DDR3 G-Skill F3-12800 @ 667 Mhz,
    500GB Seagate ST3500630AS, 1 TB WD Green Windows 7 Ultimate

    Media Server:
    Intel Q6600 @ 3 GHz with Zerotherm BTF90 on a GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R,
    nVidia 7300 (output to a 60" Samsung Plasma)
    4Gb DDR2 @ 800 MHz,
    4 x 4 TB Seagate external Tank, 1x SAMSUNG 830 SSD 64GB, 1 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint Windows 7 Ultimate
    Win TV PVR 500 Hauppauge and Firefly rf remote

  8. #708
    Member Aldakoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    I install most of my games to my 3TB drive anyway...
    ......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
    .FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
    ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
    CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
    ...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
    .PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
    .................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
    120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
    500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
    500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
    .GS600 PSU HX850i

  9. #709
    New Member slamscaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Quote Originally Posted by balroger View Post
    Very much depends what you're doing with your machine, I have an HTPC which uses a 60Gb SSD as its boot drive with no issues. My Laptop has a 250GB SSD but I have all my large programs (Skyrim and Steam stuff) installed on the secondary 1TB HDD. I just put a 250GB M.2 drive onto a GA-Z97X-UD5H mobo, and that thing goes like s&@t off a shovel. Windows 8.1 installed on that from a USB 3.0 flash drive in about 15 minutes.
    Hey that Gigabyte board is the same exact board I'm running in my new build right now! Got it from the EggXpert program actually So the M.2 drive is sweet huh? How much did that run you if you don't mind me asking?

    Kind of sucks how the M.2 drive takes away the use of two SATA 6 Gb/s ports though... But that board isn't a ridiculously high-end board or anything.... I'm really craving all the connectivity of an X99 board myself. In the past I've always used high-end chipsets with the most features. I used Nvidia's high-end chipsets for a while, then when they exited the core logic chipset business I went to X58 and loved it. Would have upgraded to X79 if Newegg wouldn't haven't screwed up one of my assignments (they sent me the wrong board). I don't like sacrificing when it comes to the MOBO. But I have to admit, this Z97 board is really nice. Just a little short on connectivity and features is all. But the build quality and performance is top-notch.
    Last edited by slamscaper; 05-10-15 at 08:16 AM.

  10. #710
    Registered balroger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    USA
    Folding Profile
    $110 Bar a penny. This one here

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820148953

    Quite shocking how physically small it is. Be aware it doesn't come with a screw, the Gigabyte board does though!
    Main Server and Video Compressor:
    AMD Phenom II 1050T 3.4GHz on a MSI 760GM-P35,
    On board Radeon 3000 (essentially run remotely from a laptop)
    16 GB (4x4GB) DDR3 G-Skill F3-12800 @ 667 Mhz,
    500GB Seagate ST3500630AS, 1 TB WD Green Windows 7 Ultimate

    Media Server:
    Intel Q6600 @ 3 GHz with Zerotherm BTF90 on a GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3R,
    nVidia 7300 (output to a 60" Samsung Plasma)
    4Gb DDR2 @ 800 MHz,
    4 x 4 TB Seagate external Tank, 1x SAMSUNG 830 SSD 64GB, 1 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint Windows 7 Ultimate
    Win TV PVR 500 Hauppauge and Firefly rf remote

  11. #711
    New Member LitlJay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Kingwood,TX
    Another powerline set : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16833704165

    That's a good price for that M.2 drive. I guess the SATA ones are cheaper. If you really want to pull the stops out, try a PCIe 12Gb/s M.2 drive. I choked on the cost of a Samsung one to go with the X99 board I was sent to review and haven't regretted it since: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820147366 (That thing is just BLINDINGLY fast).

  12. #712
    New Member LitlJay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Kingwood,TX
    Quote Originally Posted by slamscaper View Post
    Well I run Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and it tends to eat up a lot of space (the sysWOW64 folder can grow quite large over time). This is a new build and I only have two games installed right now to my OS drive, and I'm already eating up 420GB! And ALL of my media, except for a few pictures are stored on separate drives. Of course, one of those games is GTA V and it eats up around 65GB on it's own, lol.

    But I'm still happy to test this SSD. I'll probably use it as a slave drive and install the games I'm currently playing onto it. I haven't been gaming much at all over the last year and a half, but I just bought GTA V so I'm playing it more and more now. Plus I also have Witcher 3 when I got it free with my GTX 970, so that will be another game I'll likely start playing soon.

    P.S. Just as an example, my "program files(x86)" folder is eating up 114GB right now on it's own and I swear I don't have a lot of programs installed as this is a new build. My current Windows folder is eating up another 22GB and that will only grow as the sysWOW64 folder grows. It takes a heck of a lot of maintenance to keep your installation streamlined, which is something I don't want to bother with too much beyond using CCleaner every so often.
    Do you have a lot of RAM? If so, you'd be surprised how much space you can free up by turning off hibernation ("powercfg -h off" from an elevated command prompt) and offloading the pagefile (create a dedicated page/swap NTFS partition 10%-20% larger than your RAM size AT THE EDGE/FRONT of a hard drive, assign a drive letter, and use the System Properties to assign NO pagefile to the system drive and a system managed pagefile to the one you just created).

    A computer with 32GB of RAM can free up about 60GB of wasted space on the system drive this way.

  13. #713
    Member Aldakoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    I got an invite today. I don't have a link handy but it's a TPLink 500Mb/s powerline adapter. Nothing interesting at all compared to the stuff I was seeing.
    ......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
    .FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
    ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
    CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
    ...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
    .PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
    .................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
    120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
    500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
    500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
    .GS600 PSU HX850i

  14. #714
    New Member LitlJay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Kingwood,TX
    Quote Originally Posted by Aldakoopa View Post
    I got an invite today. I don't have a link handy but it's a TPLink 500Mb/s powerline adapter. Nothing interesting at all compared to the stuff I was seeing.
    Is it the one I linked to above? That would make 3 or 4 items in a row of the exact same thing for both you and I. We must be right next to each other in their database.

  15. #715
    Member Aldakoopa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    North Carolina
    Heatware Profile
    Yep. we must be Somehow I missed that link.
    ......BULLDOZER-|-NOTBULLDOZER
    .FX-4100 CPU i5-4670K
    ASUS Sabretooth 990FX MOBO ASRock Z97 Extreme 6..
    CM Hyper 212+ COOLER CM Hyper 212+
    ...ASUS HD 6850 GPU XFX HD 7850 DD
    .PNY Optima 1333MHz RAM ADATA XPG 1866MHz
    .................Antec 300 CASE Corsair Graphite 600T
    120GB Samsung 830 SSD 120GB Samsung 830
    500GB Seagate SSHD SSHD...............................
    500GB Seagate Barracuda HDD 3TB Seagate NAS............
    .GS600 PSU HX850i

  16. #716
    New Member slamscaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    I want to be next to you guys too lol. I can't stop thinking about that 30TB NAS... Especially since the guy I sold that Linksys WRT1900AC router to just text me yesterday asking about NAS boxes for sale. Said he has friends in the IT field that are always looking for a bargain.

    I did explain to him that the WRT1900AC router I sold him had BY FAR the best performance I've ever witnessed with an external hard drive attached as NAS. I was getting read speeds near 100 MB/s over the LAN, as opposed to 15-20 MB/s that's typical with all the newer AC routers I've tested (even on USB 3.0 ports). So he could always add a big external drive to his network for a cheap NAS solution until he can score a true NAS box. With that router it's actually practical.

  17. #717
    Ignoring the white noise Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by LitlJay View Post
    Do you have a lot of RAM? If so, you'd be surprised how much space you can free up by turning off hibernation ("powercfg -h off" from an elevated command prompt) and offloading the pagefile (create a dedicated page/swap NTFS partition 10%-20% larger than your RAM size AT THE EDGE/FRONT of a hard drive, assign a drive letter, and use the System Properties to assign NO pagefile to the system drive and a system managed pagefile to the one you just created).

    A computer with 32GB of RAM can free up about 60GB of wasted space on the system drive this way.
    If you have 32GB of ram, leave the PF on the SSD and set it to 2GB. Disable hibernation and system restore if you don't need it.

    To put the PF on a spinner is blasphemy.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  18. #718
    New Member LitlJay's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Kingwood,TX
    Quote Originally Posted by slamscaper View Post
    I want to be next to you guys too lol. I can't stop thinking about that 30TB NAS... Especially since the guy I sold that Linksys WRT1900AC router to just text me yesterday asking about NAS boxes for sale. Said he has friends in the IT field that are always looking for a bargain.

    I did explain to him that the WRT1900AC router I sold him had BY FAR the best performance I've ever witnessed with an external hard drive attached as NAS. I was getting read speeds near 100 MB/s over the LAN, as opposed to 15-20 MB/s that's typical with all the newer AC routers I've tested (even on USB 3.0 ports). So he could always add a big external drive to his network for a cheap NAS solution until he can score a true NAS box. With that router it's actually practical.
    We put a few refurbs on FB recently if he's interested: facebook.com/PCSupremeKW

    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    If you have 32GB of ram, leave the PF on the SSD and set it to 2GB. Disable hibernation and system restore if you don't need it.

    To put the PF on a spinner is blasphemy.
    I beg to differ. With large amounts of RAM, the pagefile will almost never be accessed, thus performance will not be degraded by putting it on a rust-bucket. Even with modern wear-leveling, having the pagefile on an SSD does cause undue writes to memory cells with a relatively shorter life than a platter. I advise people to offload from the SSD whenever possible.
    Last edited by EarthDog; 05-15-15 at 10:58 AM. Reason: merged double posts

  19. #719
    Ignoring the white noise Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Anything that is put on a spinner vs an SSD for a PF will be affected. While that may not be much, it can be something. Some programs actually REQUIRE one.

    These days (as of a couple years ago honestly) there is no concern about additional writes on an SSD. For example, the Vector 180 I just reviewed... 50GB host writes /day for its 5 year warranty. Who can accomplish that during its useful life? How about even 10GB writes /day for 5 years?

    http://techreport.com/review/27909/t...heyre-all-dead


    I advise people to offload from the SSD whenever possible.
    There is just no point in moving it off the SSD to prevent unnecessary writes these days.
    Last edited by EarthDog; 05-15-15 at 11:13 AM.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  20. #720
    New Member slamscaper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Just received my OCZ Vector 180 120GB SSD today. Seriously impressed with the scores I achieved in CrystalDiskMark. Truly amazing... That said, this is the first SSD I've ever used personally. I've always went with the latest spinners do to my need for capacity over speed. But if I were able to score a 512GB+ SSD similar to this in the future, I'll be a happy camper. I moved GTA V over to this SSD strait off and it took a little over half the space up, but it'll be easy to move back when I'm done playing it. This SSD is going to be reserved for whatever games I'm currently playing at the moment, or perhaps I may use it for any other apps that benefit from the insanely fast I/O. I'm sure I could make it my OS drive if I made some serious tweaks, but IMO it's just not worth it. I think 120GB is just too small for Windows 7 64-bit. The 32-bit version of Windows 7 would be a lot easier to manage on a small drive like this, but the 32-bit version has been obsolete ever since having more than 3.5GB of RAM became standard...
    Last edited by slamscaper; Yesterday at 03:34 PM.

Page 36 of 36 FirstFirst ... 26 35 36

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •