Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 73
  1. #1
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013

    Support for 8 slot 3930k

    Hey guys,

    I have a 3930k processor.

    It says it supports 64gb of ram and quad channel.

    However, I was wondering if I put in 8 x 4gb sticks (totalling 32gb), if it would still work, using the x79 chipset maximus extreme for 2011 sockets with 8 dimm slots.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Yes. Why wouldnt it?

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  3. #3
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Because it says it only supports quad channel. Also, overclocking video cards and CPU is what I'm doing, so will ram sitting at stock 1600mhz bottleneck it? What type of overclocking can I get on corsair vengeance ram

  4. #4
    NeonCancerCandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Southwest Michigan
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    corsair vengeance is 1333 stock, even though it's advertised as 1600 (ask me how i know).
    you have to overclock it to 1600.
    Case: Rosewill Future
    Motherboard: Asrock Z77 Pro 3
    Ram: 16GB 1600 DDR3 9-9-9-24 T2
    CPU: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.5 Ghz
    CPU Fan: Corsair H55 AIO
    GPU: Zotac Omega AMP! GTX 980
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy SE
    PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w
    Storage SanDisk 120 GB SSD (boot) + 2TB WD Green HDD (media)
    KB/Mouse Logitech G510 + Razor Taipan
    8414 on Fire Strike stock clocks

  5. #5
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Ehhh, most ram will load up at 1333Mhz for compatibility reasons...then you adjust it in the bios.

    Quote Originally Posted by Liamrox287 View Post
    Because it says it only supports quad channel. Also, overclocking video cards and CPU is what I'm doing, so will ram sitting at stock 1600mhz bottleneck it? What type of overclocking can I get on corsair vengeance ram
    Its still quad channel with 8 sticks.

    Ram is not a bottleneck at that speed, no. Overclocking ram yields negligible increases for real world uses. Dont bother IMO.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  6. #6
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Okay, I won't, thanks for the input guys

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    First Responders
    -->
    redduc900's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Quote Originally Posted by Liamrox287 View Post
    Because it says it only supports quad channel.
    The X79 IMC backbone doesn't only support quad-channel, but also dual and triple-channel config's.

  8. #8
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    I was referring to the processor saying it does 64gb which i'd be under, but only 4 slots. - http://ark.intel.com/products/63697/...up-to-3_80-GHz

  9. #9
    Vacationing to find my sanity Mutterator
    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Liam, that is the MAXIMUM it can handle.

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  10. #10
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Yeah, i know it can handle 64gb, and im not putting that much in, but im going 8 slots and not 4, so will that work?

  11. #11
    Member
    Techjesse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    If you do any Overclocking, you should buy faster ran, 2133
    Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - Mushkin Redline 16GB 2133 - PowerColor R9 280x TriFire - WD 1TB Black x3 - Intel 530 180GB SSD - LG Blue Ray Burner - I-Inc 28" 1920X1200 - Logitech G105 - Tt eSPORTS THERON USB Wired Laser 5600 dpi Gaming Mouse - EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs ST10 - Win 7 Ult. SP1 64bit

    RayStorm HP CPU block, RX360 V3 Triple Radiator, Alphacool "Full copper" Monsta 480 80mm thick and 10 FPI, 120mm CM R4 red fans 19dBa @ 2000RPM, XSPC Photon 170 Tube Glass Cylinder Reservoir / Pump Combo (D5 Vario), Monsoon G1/4″ to 7/16″ Compression Fittings, PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Tubing 7/16"ID x 5/8" OD, EK-FC R9 280X CSQ series water blocks, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 Case planning stage :) Build Log http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=748131

    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/id59x7-4.png

  12. #12
    NeonCancerCandy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Southwest Michigan
    Benching Profile Folding Profile Rosetta Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Liamrox287 View Post
    Yeah, i know it can handle 64gb, and im not putting that much in, but im going 8 slots and not 4, so will that work?
    you can use as many slots as you want as long as you stay under 64gb of ram.

    you could have 8gb of ram with 1gb sticks in all 8 slots
    or 8gb of ram with 2 4gb sticks

    doesn't matter. you don't have to use all the slots.

    though i think for quad channel you need at least 4 slots used
    Case: Rosewill Future
    Motherboard: Asrock Z77 Pro 3
    Ram: 16GB 1600 DDR3 9-9-9-24 T2
    CPU: Intel i5 2500K @ 4.5 Ghz
    CPU Fan: Corsair H55 AIO
    GPU: Zotac Omega AMP! GTX 980
    Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy SE
    PSU: OCZ Fatality 750w
    Storage SanDisk 120 GB SSD (boot) + 2TB WD Green HDD (media)
    KB/Mouse Logitech G510 + Razor Taipan
    8414 on Fire Strike stock clocks

  13. #13
    Boulard83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Quebec - Canada
    8 and/or 4 dimm will work on X79. ** if the motherboard have 8 slot **
    Boulard83 @ OvercloQc.com
    BTTB
    Gigabyte Z87X-OC WCed 4770k 2x8gb Ballistix 1600mhz cas8 Zotac GTX 780 Asus Xonar Pheobus
    OS Toshiba Q 256gb Games 2x Agility 4 256gb Raid0 Corsair HX850 Tecnofront HWD BenchTable Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

    HTPC Gigabyte H77m-D3H G2020 NT-06 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz Asus GTX 650 TI SB Recon3D
    X25-m 80gb Enermax 550w Lian Li PC-C60B

    Server Asus Z77m PRO 2500K NH-C12P 4x4gb G.Skill Ares 1600mhz
    Agility 4 128gb Corsair CX430M 2X 1TB Black 1x 2TB green

    KatPat Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 FX-8320 PH-TC14CS 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz GTS 450 + Accelero L2 Plus
    Samsung Evo 120gb Corsair HX750 Bitfenix Survivor White Asus VE247H

  14. #14
    Member
    Techjesse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    Your Right Candy! 4 slots for quad channel
    Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - Mushkin Redline 16GB 2133 - PowerColor R9 280x TriFire - WD 1TB Black x3 - Intel 530 180GB SSD - LG Blue Ray Burner - I-Inc 28" 1920X1200 - Logitech G105 - Tt eSPORTS THERON USB Wired Laser 5600 dpi Gaming Mouse - EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs ST10 - Win 7 Ult. SP1 64bit

    RayStorm HP CPU block, RX360 V3 Triple Radiator, Alphacool "Full copper" Monsta 480 80mm thick and 10 FPI, 120mm CM R4 red fans 19dBa @ 2000RPM, XSPC Photon 170 Tube Glass Cylinder Reservoir / Pump Combo (D5 Vario), Monsoon G1/4″ to 7/16″ Compression Fittings, PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Tubing 7/16"ID x 5/8" OD, EK-FC R9 280X CSQ series water blocks, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 Case planning stage :) Build Log http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=748131

    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/id59x7-4.png

  15. #15
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    So u reckon 8 slots, 32Gb, 2100mhz?? I'm putting them in a $485 Asus Maximus IV Extreme x79

  16. #16
    Soulcatcher668's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Folding Profile
    CPU/Mobo-2600K / Asus P8Z68 Gen3 Deluxe Laptop-Asus G73S
    GPU-Asus 680 DC ii 4 Gig/EVGA 680 4 Gig SLI goodness
    SSD/HDD-120 OCZ Agility, 256 OCZ Vector / Segate 1T
    Cooler-Custom loop
    Monitors-3x Asus 27" Surround goodness
    Case-Corsair 600T Graphite
    PSU-Corsair HX 850
    Folding User Stats

  17. Thanks!

    StatutoryGrape (03-21-13)

  18. #17
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    If you're not going to be helpful, then you aren't welcome here.

    What's the best option for me?

    32gb of low speed, but good ram (1600 vengeance)

    Or

    16fb of really good high speed ram.

    I'm running a 3930k with a rog maximus extreme iv
    Cheers.

  19. #18
    Disabled
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    P.s. max im spending is 230$

  20. #19
    Boulard83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Quebec - Canada
    You need 32gb ? Really ?

    If not, 16gb is enough. I run 2133mhz ram for more than 2yrs now and ran 2000mhz before on my X58. I never see more than 6-7gb used on my rig while gaming or doing other task.
    Boulard83 @ OvercloQc.com
    BTTB
    Gigabyte Z87X-OC WCed 4770k 2x8gb Ballistix 1600mhz cas8 Zotac GTX 780 Asus Xonar Pheobus
    OS Toshiba Q 256gb Games 2x Agility 4 256gb Raid0 Corsair HX850 Tecnofront HWD BenchTable Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

    HTPC Gigabyte H77m-D3H G2020 NT-06 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz Asus GTX 650 TI SB Recon3D
    X25-m 80gb Enermax 550w Lian Li PC-C60B

    Server Asus Z77m PRO 2500K NH-C12P 4x4gb G.Skill Ares 1600mhz
    Agility 4 128gb Corsair CX430M 2X 1TB Black 1x 2TB green

    KatPat Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 FX-8320 PH-TC14CS 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz GTS 450 + Accelero L2 Plus
    Samsung Evo 120gb Corsair HX750 Bitfenix Survivor White Asus VE247H

  21. #20
    Member
    Techjesse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    USA
    16 GB and really fast. Max 2133 This is what I use http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820226275
    Intel Core i7 3930K - Asus Rampage IV Extreme - Mushkin Redline 16GB 2133 - PowerColor R9 280x TriFire - WD 1TB Black x3 - Intel 530 180GB SSD - LG Blue Ray Burner - I-Inc 28" 1920X1200 - Logitech G105 - Tt eSPORTS THERON USB Wired Laser 5600 dpi Gaming Mouse - EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs ST10 - Win 7 Ult. SP1 64bit

    RayStorm HP CPU block, RX360 V3 Triple Radiator, Alphacool "Full copper" Monsta 480 80mm thick and 10 FPI, 120mm CM R4 red fans 19dBa @ 2000RPM, XSPC Photon 170 Tube Glass Cylinder Reservoir / Pump Combo (D5 Vario), Monsoon G1/4″ to 7/16″ Compression Fittings, PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT Tubing 7/16"ID x 5/8" OD, EK-FC R9 280X CSQ series water blocks, EVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2 PSU - CaseLabs Merlin ST10 Case planning stage :) Build Log http://www.overclockers.com/forums/s...d.php?t=748131

    http://valid.canardpc.com/cache/banner/id59x7-4.png

Page 1 of 4 1 2 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •