• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FEATURED Seiki Mini-Review

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

notarat

PREFACE:
I've already done the 3 screen portrait mode Eyefinity thing. After the novelty wore off, I was left with 3x the energy usage of a single monitor, bezels that broke up the image, and compatibility issues related to crossfire in apps (mostly games).

One More Note: I offered to help test font color readability differences between the light and dark themes but was told the issue was moot because someone is working on correcting the code to display a readable color no matter which theme you choose to use. I don't know if that happened yet so Due to the Light/Dark Theme issue, you may not like the font color I chose.

Seiki Digital SE50UY04 Mini-Review
I've been using a Dell U3011 for a few years now, having bought it to replace 3 Dell U2410s in Portrait Mode Eyefinity. The 30" seemed a great compromise and, in fact, I've been quite pleased with it; to the point that I have mentioned, on more than one occasion, that it was among the best purchases I've ever made.
Fast forward two years and I find that I spend as much time yearning for a new, higher resolution monitor as I do gaming. Gaming isn't even the issue, either...I just want more real estate for productivity apps.
As I was surfing on one of the hardware forums I frequent, I came across a thread about a person who purchased a Sharp 4k2k Monitor capable of 60Hz and was waiting for it to arrive. While reading the thread I decided to do a Google search to read up a bit on the Sharp monitor.