Results 1 to 17 of 17
  1. #1
    Disabled DECODER22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    163

    Question Crazy Harddrive Mod

    ok i was wondering if it was possible to take a regualr computer harddrive and hook it up to a laptop cause my laptop harddrive took a poop and ic ant afford the laptop prices i mean maybe i can hook up a 13.6 to the laptop or sumtin anyone have any ideas on how to do that ??????????????

  2. #2
    Oni-ni-Kanabō
    Ninja Hippo eater Moderator
    Oni's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario Canada
    Posts
    13,547
    I'm pretty sure you can do that, but the PC HD wouldn't fit in your laptop.
    Mama, put my guns in the ground. I can't shoot them anymore.

    On Indefinite Hiatus

    Asus P6T SE
    Intel i7 930 @ Stock
    12GB Corsair DDR3 9-9-9-24
    XFX Radeon 5830 @ Stock
    Corsair 750 Watt PSU


  3. #3
    Disabled DECODER22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    163
    id make its own box lol and run the cable out thing is how do i power up the harddrive and i dont think the cabels are the same LOL

  4. #4
    Member NTX-Zoner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    City of the Evil Empire, Washington
    Posts
    279
    Laptops run standard IDE. You can actually find converters for a standard PC to use laptop drives. You might be able to customize one to work the other way around. You can find the kits around. http://www.geishapc.com/212lapdrivto.html

  5. #5
    Member drunkmonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    1,122
    yeah, there are converters that turn the laptop ide into a molex connector and standard IDE cable.

  6. #6
    Disabled DECODER22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    163
    hmm i found converters to hook up laptop harddrive to a desktop but i ahvent found a converter to hook up desktop harddrive to laptop ODES ANYONE KNOW WERE I CAN GET THIS CONVERTER?

  7. #7
    Crazy Jayhawk's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hutchinson, KS
    Posts
    1,804
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Originally posted by DECODER22
    hmm i found converters to hook up laptop harddrive to a desktop but i ahvent found a converter to hook up desktop harddrive to laptop ODES ANYONE KNOW WERE I CAN GET THIS CONVERTER?
    I doubt such a thing exists.

    You'll probably have to build your own.

  8. #8
    Member
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario
    Posts
    1,880
    get the "laptop-to-desktop" adapter and use it the other way around
    The only thing you should expect is the unexpected.

  9. #9
    Member FeralCom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    239
    I have 2 of the laptop to desktop adapters, but I have never seen any the other way around.

    They use to have an adapter that would allow you to attach a drive via the PCMCIA slots. Most laptops have a BIOS setting where you can choose to boot from the PCMCIA.

    1. Attach the drive to the PCMCIA Slots
    2. Select Boot from PCMCIA in the BIOS
    3. Tape the drive to the top cover (heh).

  10. #10
    Member NTX-Zoner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    City of the Evil Empire, Washington
    Posts
    279
    I talked to a friend, and he does not think that they exist either, but, if you pick one up and modify the conectors on the laptop drive end to match that of the dead HDD, it should work.

    .............MSI MS-6380 Pro............Asus VIA KT133A................K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI
    ...........AMD XP 1600 @ stock.....AMD Athlon 900.................AMD 64 4000 @ 2520
    .........512MB DDR 2100..........512MB PC 133..................1GB OCZ Plat EL 3200
    .......Win Xp Pro.................Win XP Pro......................Win XP Pro
    .....Stable......................Stable...........................Stable

    :beer: :bday: :beer: :bday: :beer:
    [maniacal laughter] Its alive!! Its alive!!! [/maniacal laughter]

  11. #11
    Disabled DECODER22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    163
    how do i hook the drive up to the pcmcia ?????

  12. #12
    Member FeralCom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    239
    I will dig around the web and see if I can find what I am talking about. May be hard because this was a few years ago before everything went USB. You use to be able to find backup kits that had the connector. You might even be able to find an old external IDE device that has the connection. Kinda like the old backpack CD-ROMs that had a PCMCIA card attached to them.

  13. #13
    Member Robbie's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    A hot spot in Ca
    Posts
    987
    Get a usb hard drive!!!

    Rob
    Don't just stand there and shout it...... do something about it!! (M.L. Gore)

    Challenge me and I'll make you think, but alas you don't want to........ your a lazy god.
    Gone blue how about you?!?!

  14. #14
    Member NTX-Zoner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    City of the Evil Empire, Washington
    Posts
    279
    USB hdd will work, but be dirt slow. If it was the second drive in the system, that should be fine, but as the boot drive with USB legacy enabled (so you could boot to it) it would make the system crawl. Firewire would have more acceptable speed, but that would require more expensive hardware and I don't think its boot supported

    .............MSI MS-6380 Pro............Asus VIA KT133A................K8N Neo4 Platinum/SLI
    ...........AMD XP 1600 @ stock.....AMD Athlon 900.................AMD 64 4000 @ 2520
    .........512MB DDR 2100..........512MB PC 133..................1GB OCZ Plat EL 3200
    .......Win Xp Pro.................Win XP Pro......................Win XP Pro
    .....Stable......................Stable...........................Stable

    :beer: :bday: :beer: :bday: :beer:
    [maniacal laughter] Its alive!! Its alive!!! [/maniacal laughter]

  15. #15
    Disabled DECODER22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    163
    im working on making a desktop harddrive work on it hehe ill let u guys know how it goes ill post pics if i ever finish it heeh

  16. #16
    Member Black Hawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    The Petrochemical and Oil Refinery state.
    Posts
    207

    Well

    What about a DVD-ROM from a Laptop to hook up to a PC? It only has a IDE Ribbon connector, if that helps...

  17. #17
    Crazy Jayhawk's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Hutchinson, KS
    Posts
    1,804
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I just realized something - you're going to have to find a 12V source inside the laptop. Desktop hard drives require both 5V and 12V, but laptop ones only need 5V.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •