Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member The Coolest's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Heatware Profile

    Need ur opinion: Cable or ADSL

    Hey guys!
    I hopefully will soon be moving to either ADSL or Cable conn (if my mom agrees) and I wanted to ask what u think is better? I still don't know the specs of the cable connection, but I do know the specs of ADSL, it will be the cheapest I can get, therefore relatively slow, around 50-60KB/s?
    The cable prolly also will be the cheapest choise, so what do u think I should get, I also know that the installation will be cheaper on the cable also
    "<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

    Heatware

  2. #2
    King of Cats Senior rugby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Usually cable downloads faster than dsl. check out dslreports.com and their forums for researching the companies involved and that will give you a better understanding of what's going on.
    G4 MDD DP867@DP1ghz

    Real men overclock macs with a soldering gun.

  3. #3
    Senior Member The Coolest's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Heatware Profile
    OK, then I guess Cable it will be, only one other question, will Q3A work in Internet well? like what are the upload speeds of Cable are they enough to play on 2 comps on the net?

    EDIT: I now have both computers connected straight to each other (no switches/hubs/routers) and was wondering if I still will be able to use the ICS (inet conn sharing)? even if I'll add a second LAN card will I be able to use ICS?
    Last edited by The Coolest; 03-15-02 at 10:22 AM.
    "<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

    Heatware

  4. #4
    Member AMD'er's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Atlanta
    you should really check you the area you live in. Although cable sometimes download faster than DSL, its speed depends upon how many people in your area has Cable. If your entire neighbor hood is running on a cable connection, then all hell will break loose when everyone decides to get online (6:00pm-1:00am) so know you are better off with DSL which would give you a more stable connection speed. but the same thing sometimes happen with DSL but not as often as it does with cable
    No Rig Must Build New Still Waiting to Build A New One

    R.I.P (2002-2006) to the following Machine!!!
    P4 2.6C @ 3.32
    IC7G
    512 HyperX 3500
    ATI 9800 Pro
    Words of Wisdom:
    A Wise Man Once Said..."I PITTY DA FOOL"

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    San Diego
    cable all the way, u will have no prob with two comps playing RA3 online at the same time...i do it.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Bakersfield,CA
    I have cable and dsl right now and can tell you cable is faster at downloading and uploading HOWEVER dsl does not get you nearly the packet loss cable gives you.

    dsl doesnt have nearly the bandwidth cable does so I would go with cable unless there are many people on your node or you start getting bad packet loss.

  7. #7
    Originally posted by AMD'er
    speed depends upon how many people in your area has Cable. If your entire neighbor hood is running on a cable connection, then all hell will break loose when everyone decides to get online (6:00pm-1:00am)
    While cable is alot faster than DSL, it is a myth about cable and one of it's biggest downfalls being that it's a shared bandwidth.

    Of course cable is shared among whoever is on your local node, but what most people don't know is that DSL is shared as well, the only part about DSL being a "dedicated" connection is from your house to the company your phone line is connected to, after that, it's also shared, from the company out to the internet.

    I had DSL, and when peak time occured, ( roughly around the times AMD'er suggested ) my conection speed would drop, and my latency would go through the roof, and being that it wasn't as fast as cable, the conection suffered more, as well as i did trying to DL things or play a game online.

    So cable is the better bet considering it offers more speed over DSL, I'd go with cable. the whole "shared bandwidth" thing is just an advertising ploy to get people to go with DSL instead of cable...hey, they have to make their money somehow right?

  8. #8
    Senior Member The Coolest's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Tel Aviv, Israel
    Heatware Profile
    OK... My problem now is that I don't have a router of any kind and was wandering if I install one would it hurt my LAN speed that the MAXes at 10MB/s w/ both comps connected to each other straight, w/ only one cable?
    "<The_Coolest> You can't unwaste wasted CPU cycles" - Start FOLDing now!
    Main rig:
    Core i7 2600K 3.4GHz @ 4.5GHz (Scythe Mugen2) / Mobo: Biostar TP67XE / SSD: Crucial M4 128GB (+ HDDs) / GPU: HD5450 or 8800 Ultra / Mem: 4x4GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBXL RipJaws X - 16GB total / PSU: Seasonic S12II 620W.
    Secondary rig:
    Core i3 540 3.06GHz @ Stock / Mobo: MSI H55M-ED55 / GPU: Integrated / Mem: 2x2GB DDR3-1600 G.Skill 4GBRL RipJaws - 4GB total / PSU: FSP ATX350-PNR 350W.
    Core Temp - Accurate temperature monitor for Intel's Core/Core 2 and AMD64 processors

    Heatware

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •