• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New to water cooling. Advice appreciated

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mar2511

Hey everyone. I'm new to water cooling and am excited to get my loop going. I just had a question about the most effective way to run my loop. I've got 2 radiators, a gpu water block, and a CPU water block. Below is an image of my case (Cyclone 7000) and some advanced, next level graphics produced by MS paint to show my idea.
25sc60x.jpg

Personally I think you need to turn the fans around to blow up and out for the top panel radiator. Sure, like you have it it will be drawing cool ambient air through the rad but then it will be exhausting it into the case where it will be picked up by the 158mm radiator at the top of the back panel. That's just my thought but really, you should experiment with it both ways. It also depends on whether or not the gpu needs cooling worse than the CPU or visa versa.
The fans in your case should be arranged to create a front/bottom to back/top overall pattern of air movement. Fans that oppose one another cancel each other out and create higher inside case temps.

Personally I think you need to turn the fans around to blow up and out for the top panel radiator. Sure, like you have it it will be drawing cool ambient air through the rad but then it will be exhausting it into the case where it will be picked up by the 158mm radiator at the top of the back panel. That's just my thought but really, you should experiment with it both ways. It also depends on whether or not the gpu needs cooling worse than the CPU or visa versa.
The fans in your case should be arranged to create a front/bottom to back/top overall pattern of air movement. Fans that oppose one another cancel each other out and create higher inside case temps.