• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Questions about CPU socket retention

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

shadowdr

OK, I ordered a new mobo and an I5 4690. I got them both on the third. I installed the mobo and cpu in my case and no boot. After disassembling everything I noticed that there was obvious damage to the socket bending some of the pins. Here is a post about the issue. After RMA'ing the mobo to Gigabyte I was getting my stuff together in one place and looked at the CPU. What I see is that the sides of the CPU are indented? Is this normal? Because I am new to Intel, I can't tell if the indentions are supposed to happen by the retention bracket. It does not make sense, to me anyway, that I had damaged the socket pins by simply installing the CPU and yet the retention bracket made deep dents in the in the sides of the CPU. What do you think?

Attachments

• cpu 111.JPG
    cpu 111.JPG
    960.8 KB · Views: 1,062
  • cpu 109.JPG
    cpu 109.JPG
    981.7 KB · Views: 478
Meh I don't think it will harm a thing. Copper is pretty soft metal compared to the retention bracket...... But I don't think it'll harm anything.

The indents aren't really normal, but I don't think you have to worry bout' anything as long as the retention bracket holds the cpu in place and the processor doesn't move around as if it where loose.

I just looked at 2 of my cpu's and both have the same marks, so I would wager it's normal.

The retention bracket should hold the processor down by those metal tabs, not just at a singular point. It is hard to tell from the pictures, but how deep is the gash? Either way, I really doubt that is going to cause you issues. Worst case scenario is that you lose some mounting pressure within the socket.