• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014 - Custom KeyCaps So I Can See Symbols

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tackyjan

Registered
Hello All! :p

I just purchased a Razer Blackwidow Ultimate 2014 keyboard and I love everything about it (the way the keys feel and sound, the backlighting, ergonomics, etc.) except one thing:

The backlighting illuminates only part of the keys that have special characters. For example, the characters @, $, $, etc. on the number row are not lit so when I am using my keyboard at night I can't see them.

I am a software developer and I use these special characters all the time and I don't always remember which key has a particular symbol.

I was checking online for custom keycaps but I am not sure which ones to buy. The ones I buy will have to feel as good (if not better) than the stock Blackwidow keycaps and also allow for the backlighting of all the symbols on the keys.

Can anyone recommend a good set of keycaps for my Blackwidow Ultimate and where to get them? Or another alternative, if there is one?

Thank you.

Jan

The partial backlighting is inherent of the design of the backlit Cherry MX key.
The stem of the key blocks the light from the LED of hitting the opposite side of the keycap, causing a dark spot where your special characters are.

My G710+ is the same way, although I get a slight bleed through on this keyboard.

You can check with WASD Keyboards or MAX Keyboard about getting keycaps though, both of them sell great quality parts.
Make sure any keycaps you buy are specifically for backlit keyboards though.

Thank you for the response! I will checkout the keycaps from WASD and MAX Keyboard now. :)