• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PC finally died on me, need a very budget friendly replacement.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MX5J6

So it finally happened. My computer died on me and it's really not worth fixing again. The m k me I spent trying to fix this older computer I'd rather save and put it towards something more up to date.

I am studying to go back to school and study chemistry and physics and I will need a computer for school work. I am also an avid LoL and WoW player. I would love to get into slightly more demanding games but nothing more than some polished MMOs or the occasional shooter. My budget is around $500 I'd say. I can try to save more but I don't really know what my options are in this kind of price range. Any thing I buy I'd prefer to go to newegg for if not amazon or something of the like. So, do I have a leg go stand on? Or should I try to salvage this thing one more time?

GotMC.jpg

If you do you can prolly squeeze a very decent gamer together. If not, you may want to look at used market some. Especially for GPU maybe. There are alot of 280, 280x, 290's on the market for good prices that are left over miners.

Also regular upgrades are selling off their z87/ivy bridge's to go z97/devil's canyon and you could find some good deals.

What all do you not have to buy?
Monitor, case, mouse, kb, OS?

I have a monitor, keyboard and mouse. Other than that I will have to start from scratch if I want to build something. Is there a certain place that's best to look for quality used components?

Just a quick example of what you can come up with. This can be fine tuned, I just quickly selected parts and it's under $430.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: Intel Pentium G3258 3.2GHz Dual-Core Processor ($59.99 @ Micro Center)