• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking Q9550?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ashgamer

Here are my pc specs

Core 2 quad Q9550 2.83 GHz
Cooler Master Hyper TX3 EVO
Asus P5G41T-MLX
4GB DDR3 1333 RAM(2 x 2GB)
GTX 750 ti
WD Green 1TB
Windows 7 32 bit
Antec VP450P 450W PSU

My cpu is bottlenecking my gpu in some games. I can't afford a new build anytime soon, so i am thinking about doing some minor overclocking to lower the bottleneck. I am expecting an OC to 3 - 3.2 GHz. I don't want to increase voltage, a risk free minor overclock.
I read that G41 cannot OC well, but also that this mobo can do some overclocking.
Please help me overclock my cpu(i am new to overclocking).

Last edited:
For that small of an overclock, all you need to do is raise the FSB from 333 to 376MHz for a 3.2GHz clock (no voltage adjustments necessary). Then just select a DRAM frequency as close to DDR3-1333 as possible without going over.

For that small of an overclock, all you need to do is raise the FSB from 333 to 376MHz for a 3.2GHz clock (no voltage adjustments necessary). Then just select a DRAM frequency as close to DDR3-1333 as possible without going over.

I know how to raise the fsb, but have no idea about the DRAM frequency part. My pc has 2 ram sticks with 1333 mhz. I am new to overclocking. can you explain the dram frequency selecting part?

You should have a DRAM Frequency menu option in the BIOS, which when selected / highlighted will offer a number of different frequencies depending on the available ratios. Select the closest available option to DDR3-1333 without going over.