• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Noob installing 840 Pro and 840 EVO SSD need help please

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

klrman

Registered
I want to use my Samsung 840 EVO 120GB SSD for a win-7 boot drive and the 840 pro 256GB for everything else. Each SSD came with a disc, PRO with ver 3.2 and EVO with ver 4.0.

Do I need each disc for each SSD to set things up? My mobo should arrive in two days, so I'm trying to understand it all as this is my first build. Still learning how to set these two SSD's in bios on my MSI Z97 U3 Plus board so that they run at full speed and trying to make sure win-7 doesn't slow them down.

So far I have learned to set them both as AHCI in Bios so as I go along over the next week or so putting everything together, I will post in this thread for help when panic mode sets in if I can't figure it all out :D

Hello, and welcome to the forums! :welcome: You did your research well, AHCI mode is pretty much the sole stumbling block in the installation process with ssds. Some boards (older ones, mostly) will just run the drive in IDE mode, which is much slower.
I think your board will default to ahci, though.

The disks are not needed. They probably have samsungs ssd magician software on them, which (I think) let's you see how far into the lifespan of the drives you are, and may set up a ram cache. I'm not certain what all they have, beyond those. You don't need it for the installation, that's for sure.

you will only need to install the magician software once and it can access both drives to do what it does

Here is what you need to do with an SSD...

1. Install it on the Intel ports (see motherboard manual for details on which is which).
2. Be sure you are in AHCI mode in the BIOS