• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

CPU Blocks

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

TalkingWater

Hey guys,

After having upgraded to a new build and the Corsair Carbide Air 540, I've decided that it's time to get a custom water loop again. Many years ago I bought a DIY kit, which worked well and was cheap. At some point though it leaked over the CPU block, resulting in a fried graphics card.

In the following years I've used AIO solutions for watecooling my CPU, but having the full-size windows of the Air 540 and some neat cabling, I decided I want a full solution again, this time also including GPU cooling.

So right now I'm still beginning to gather component ideas and figuring out what to get. I'm going for a very low-noise build, as I don't expect to be doing much overclocking.
I've found that it's considerably more expensive to get watercooling now, as the kit I bought back then cost me about $150. I've accounted for that, and mybudget this time around is about $1000.

First on my list is the CPU block. I've found some nice ones, but in my searching I also stumbled on two AIO solutions, and I am wondering if you guys know of any blocks similar, but where it's just the block intended for a custom loop. The two in particular is the new DeepCool Captain or the Raijintek Triton.

Do any of you know of any similar blocks?

Sincerely,
Talking Waterfall

Alternatively, do any of you know if it's possible to simply disconnect the tubes it sip with and include the parts in my own loop?
And if so, what size would the fittings be?

There are plenty of CPU block options out there for a custom loop, but I'm not sure of exactly what you're looking for from reading your post.

Are you looking for a CPU block with built-in pump? The Swiftech Apogee Drive 2 might suit your needs if so.