• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

"Unallocated" on main hdd

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JohnyTheDude

Hello to everyone!This is my first time posting so forgive any mistakes about thread placement(mods please move/delete if there's something wrong with my post).The reason i'm writing this thread is that it's the 3rd time that one of my hdds malfunction and everytime i'm in a situation like this i'm trying to find someone who knows what he's doing(always qualified technicians) and end up trying not to pay a fortune to retrieve my data.This time my main hdd (WD 1.5 TB) could not be detected from my system and when i got to the disk management i had a windows message which i didn't read(first time that i didn't and i still regret it) but it didn't say anything about delete/format as i run throught it very fast before clicking "no".The drive disappeared and i only could find it on the bottom of the disk management window with the sign "Unallocated".I've taken it to a technician(didn't want to risk it) and he told me that the disk's partition has a problem and he has to check it's condition further.First of all:How worried should i be?And second if he suggests a data recovery what is the best data recovery programm for the price?I want to buy one and do it myself if the price he asks is too much.Sorry for the long post!

Welcome to the forums. You need to try connecting your hard drive to another system first.
If your partition table is messed up, then this is how I recovered mine:

This should work for version 7.0 of this program just like it did for version 6.14 I used before version 7 was released:
http://www.cgsecurity.org/wiki/TestDisk_Download

• To recover a damaged partition table:

1. Start testdisk_win.exe

2. Create a new log file