• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I need help to choose memory

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bardos

I have just bought a GA-Z87X-UD3H motherboard. Got a good price on it. Looking to pair a CPU and memory with it. I am thinking about the Intel g3258 cpu rated at 1333Mhz. How does this affect the memory that I can use? I was originally thinking about getting ddr3 1600 mhz memory with a g3420 cpu rated at 1600Mhz I think. But I am reading more and more about the g3258... I am in a quandary over which combo memory and cpu to get. My current board is a socket 775 board I've been using for several years now with a 2.4Ghz core 2 quad Q6600, so the upgrade is substantial and I am on a learning curve about these new boards. Any advice appreciated.

G3258 can work with every DDR3 memory. You will faster see motherboard limiting max clock than this CPU. With current prices 1866-2133 would be best.

You definitely want a two module kit so you ca take advantage of dual channel.

G3258 can work with every DDR3 memory. You will faster see motherboard limiting max clock than this CPU. With current prices 1866-2133 would be best.

Could you explain why? I haven't overclocked in ages. thank you

Every Z87 motherboard officially supports max 1600 memory as this is the Intel's specification for memory controller inside the CPU. Somehow every board is working at least till about 2933.

On your mobo website you can find info:
"Support for DDR3 3000(O.C.) / 2933(O.C.) / 2800(O.C.) / 2666(O.C.) / 2600(O.C.) / 2500(O.C.) / 2400(O.C.) / 2200(O.C.) / 2133(O.C.) / 2000(O.C.) / 1866(O.C.) / 1800(O.C.) / 1600 / 1333 MHz memory modules"