• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newegg 'rebate card' for real?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

alexisvx

Registered
Hi all,
I am new to PC building and have been looking at Newegg for some of my parts. I noticed that for quite a few of the items I am after, Newegg offers ' $20 rebate card'. The rebate cards are all expiring soon and was wondering if these tend to renew after they expire or that they indeed are gone for good after expiration.

I am really stressing over this as I don't know if I should buy now or wait for cyber monday/black friday for possible better deals.

I am also checking pcpartpicker for best deals.

The rebate lasts as long as it says it does. Note that the cutoff date is typically from date of purchase. Not arrival to you or to rebate center.

Are we talking about mail in rebates? Your odds of actually receiving the rebate in the mail are about 50%. Sometimes they take 6 months. Sometimes you're waiting 10 years but they just don't show up. Total crapshoot. If the rebate doesn't happen "at the cash register" don't expect it to happen at all.

I've mailed in approx. 70 rebates in my life and have only had an issue with 1, and in the end even that one got paid out.

Well, I just bought one item today from newegg with a $20 mail-in rebate, hopefully I'll get it !

You usually have to print out the form or go to the specified URL and fill out a form online. Then print the form they give you, mail that form, a copy of your invoice or receipt, and the UPC label from the product you bought, to the specified address.