• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

G3258 Overclocking guide pleaseeeeeee

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Techsavy123

Registered
Hi guys and girls I'm new to overcoockers.com and I'm really happy to find a community of over clockers like me. My system:

CPU: Intel Pentium G3258
Cooler: CM Hyper 212x
RAM: Geil 4GB 2166Mhz
MOBO: Asus h97 plus
Case: Corsair spec 03
Monitor: LG Flatron 27" LCD LED
Storage: 1TB Seagate 7200rpm HDD
PSU: Enermax 650w

So could I please have some overclocking guides because I'm getting cooler and cpu at Christmas!!!! YAY! So anyway thanks guys and girls and have a very merry Christmas!!!! :)

It's pretty straight forward up to about 4.5Ghz or so. All you have to do is adjust multiplier and vcore. You may also have to adjust load line calibration. That'ss about it.

Read the Haswell overclocking guide in the Intel Stickes thread iin Intel Cpus. I applies to the 3258 as well. You can get some high OCs with that Hyper 212 as the 3258 is a pretty low wattage chip.

When I overclocked my 3258 a couple of weeks ago I got to 4.4Ghz (I wasn't aiming for record breaking) by just adjusting Vcore and multiplier. It was very easy.

That sucks. Mine does it on 1.18V, though I keep uncore at stock.

You guys are gonna make me cry. My CPU is so bad it wouldn't even handle the Auto OC on the Z97 Anniversary board to 4.2Ghz which is about 1.288V if I recall correctly. It's that terrible.
I wonder if it was dropped on its head when it was cut from the wafer.

You guys are gonna make me cry. My CPU is so bad it wouldn't even handle the Auto OC on the Z97 Anniversary board to 4.2Ghz which is about 1.288V if I recall correctly. It's that terrible.
I wonder if it was dropped on its head when it was cut from the wafer.