• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

I'm a water cooling virgin and wish to clarify some points - thanks!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cozumel

I'd like to thank you in advance for taking the time to read this thread, for your advice and support :D

Since this is my first attempt at water cooling I was going to go down the All-In-One route, but figured that would be a pretty dumb choice as I would probably learn little from the experience. So, custom loop it is - which does excite a bit! lol :p

Everything will be going into a Phanteks Enthoo Primo

I have not bought anything yet. Please advise if you think the following basic rig is not well matched as it will (probably) be:
  • Gibabyte Z97X Gaming G1-Wifi BK (I might as well watercool the VRMs on the board too)
  • i7 4790K
  • EVGA 970 GPUS Reference boards in SLI
  • Corsair AX PSU (Wattage to be calculated)
  • Kingston HyperX Savage DDR3 modules

I definitely will be overclocking. :) However, it is also essential that the rig is as quiet as reasonable possible. I am literally at the planning stage (for about the last two weeks) although I will be buying the basic rig next week. :)

Initial questions:
  1. Is it okay to use barbs without clamps? I was thinking of using 1/2" ID barbs with 7/16" ID Primochill Pirmochill Advanced LRT tubing. I'd heat up the tubing to fit. Will that work without leaks? (I've read somewhere that it's fine but wanted to know your experiences with this). It would leave the loop looking clean without the expense of compression fittings.