• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Uh...Help....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Methal

Ok gents, story time.

Today I go to work, and one of our tech 3's (big deal at my company) out of the blue asked me if I would take over the company (windows worshiping company mind you!) linux box. Its most likely a Dell T3400 a quad core intel with x gigs of ram....probably 4.

This guy is moving onto another company. (sad day! hes one of our best.)

I have several years of mostly passive experience with Mint/ubuntu. I have never managed anything like this, and have usually just used linux as a folding/tinkering machine or as a general purpose computer.

I have exactly zero experience with setting up multiple user accounts, samba, and all the things that come with a Server style installation without a gui.

Dont get me wrong though, I'm looking forward to this experience, and love to learn.

What can I do to make this learning curve more pleasant. And keep in mind that my company SHOULD be on linux. We are a PACS software company, and our customers demand and require 100% up time. Lives very well could depend on it. (not kidding)
We for some gawd awful stupid reason are on windows servers! My days are a constant battle to keep them up and running, with over 1000 sites and easily over 5,000 computers....all running anything from XP to server 2012.

I would really like to make this a good introductory experience for my fellow nerds at work.

So fire away! where can I start? What resources are out there?
I've already googled, but figured i'd ask here as well. Since there is so much out there, and a huge amount of experience here. Why not combine.

Thank you for your help!
-New Linux system admin surrounded by windows power users!