• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

E8400 OC Question, Could It Work? [Dell Optiplex 755]

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kitt

Registered
hey all, im new to overclocking and the forum :)

ok so what i have is an E8400 (E0) cpu, as below:

cpucase.jpg

cpuz1.jpg

at the moment in my PC this cpu idles at 34c and raises to 44c under heavy load.
i have been reading about performing the LGA775 pad modding to increase the FSB frequency from 333mhz to 400mhz, which would result in the E8400 increasing from 3ghz to 3.6ghz.
now the problem, im using a dreaded dell optiplex 755 (latest bios), which allows for changing nothing in the bios with regards to cpu/ram parameters etc, as seen below:

bios1.jpg

bios2.jpg

bios3.jpg

the stock dell mainboard in my optiplex 755 uses the intel Q35 (express?) chipset, here:
http://ark.intel.com/products/31918

here is some additional data regarding the mainboard/memory:

cpuz2.jpg

cpuz3.jpg

cpuz4.jpg

so now to my question (sorry if it's dumb, im totally new to overclocking), is there no point in wasting time and effort attempting the 333mhz to 400mhz LGA775 cpu pad mod (due to my dell mainboard and lack of bios options regarding changing cpu/memory parameters?)
or is it a case of 'it might work', in which case i would give it a try.

thanks for any help or advice

Last edited:
As long as your board will give it enough voltage it'll work, since you have no control you have to cross your fingers. If it doesn't then just erase your mod and go back to stock

hey thanks very much for your reply :)
ok i think i will look into getting some copper/conductive paint next, will have a look on ebay

forget the mod

Apply cooling and let it rip

With a Dell PS and board doubt it will survive the ordeal anyway