• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My EPIC idea for a custom made case

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

hman123467

Hi everyone I am new to oc forums so I don't know a hell of a lot about oc but I know a lot about computers (doesn't everyone on this forum?)

Anyway, here is my idea,
So it is like a normal, casual case but with one huge difference, it has a kind of long triangle at the bottom that draws air in through the bottom of the case. Also, to stop dust entering the case, there are several air filters at the bottom. Then there are 2-3 fans at the top that pull the air through the stretched out pyramid at the bottom (what is the name of that shape?!) and the hit air is then expelled through the top of the case. And alternatively, I could have a tunnel at the top which lets the air flow from the top fans go through to the back.
So do YOU think it is a good of case or a good doorstop?
Cheers,
hman out

Welcome to the Forums hman!

To answer your question, there are a multitude of cases available with filtered bottom intakes and top exhausts. However conventional case airflow is front to back and bottom to top. I'm not a fluid engineer, but I would think that a single direction "wind tunnel" with obstructions in the middle (read GPU, CPU Cooler, etc...) would create dead spots in the flow. I don't know this for a fact and it would require some testing. I have seen posts of people in other forums who have created this same concept but in a left to right horizontal layout using a house box fan and cardboard boxes duct taped together, though no results were posted.

I'm not sure what the triangle shape you're refering to would help airflow. Keep in mind fans are circular. I have thought about the Dyson style bladeless fans, but it seems they lack any significant static pressure.