• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Linux GTX 970 questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

RoXQi3x

So, I'm currently enjoying two Ubuntu builds with hi-end Nvidia cards, but I'm really a Linux noob and also a hi-end graphic craphics noob. So I am quite used to AMD Tahiti/Hawaii and low-end mobos and even GPU extenders - because even PCI 1x didn't really hurt the ppd. And I did get excited about 970 and Ubuntu and I run out buying a new mobo that I already knew without looking too much on PCI Express needs for Nvidia..

Anyways, I would like a Linux way of seeing current PCI Express speeds. The Nvidia X Server gives some nice numbers, but only max PCI Speed, not current - at least not that clearly.
GPU-Z in Windows shows the real deal - there's the 1x extender I got going!

How can I see the PCI speeds (4x/x/16x) in Linux?

And btw I said questions - I have managed to overclock the first GPU with cool-bits, but how can I get that option on the other cards?

PCI_GUPPIE4.jpg

Below is a copy of the current xorg.conf file from one of my computers with coolbits overclock enabled on 2xGTX970. The cfg was originally set up with a pair of 750Ti and earlier drivers, but this is copy of file currently running. Hope this helps.

Do not remember the details on how I got it working, so have been replacing the default file with the working file as the systems are upgraded. Recall editing the xorg file per the various suggestions found via google, but still having issues until connecting monitors to both cards at same time, then was able to get working on the 2nd card. Continued to work after disconnecting the 2nd screen. I do not have voltage adjustments, but the 970 run well at ~1500 and the 750Ti at ~1400.