• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Do I need a DAC/AMP combo...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

peanutbudder

Hey Guys,

I just purchased a pair of sennhieser HD 600's because I wanted to really experience my music. I have an ASUS Maximus impact that has a sound card that is capable of pushing 600 ohms or so they say. This is my first pair of real headphones and Im not sure if I need a DAC or Amp to power theses beast. I am looking at the Audioengine D1 and it has rave reviews but Im not certain it will enhance my mp3's or games because it talks alot about Flac files. Any input on this would be really nice since I am a noob at audio stuff but I have 13,686 songs in iTunes.

Note that you'll need a fiber cable (pretty cheap, a few dollars) to get the best performance since it only supports up to 96kHz over USB and USB in general is suboptimal for gaming. Don't bother with an external PSU for it unless you get a lab grade unit - most wall warts put out more noise than a PC's USB port.

I have a set of Monster Optical and Phillips Optical cables... I'm not sure which one is better but the Phillips feels a lot thicker and has a better build quality.

IMG_0646.JPG IMG_0647.JPG

Monster is known for being overpriced, except sometimes on sale. Either cable will work, and for that matter, a cheap cable will work just as well. Audio is so low of a bitrate that even the cheapest fiber will carry it just fine.

Ok if its fully digital on fiber optic then what happens when it gets to the DAC? Does it not get converted to analog which is then sent to my headphones.

It will, what I'm saying is that it doesn't matter which optical cable you use as the 1s and 0s will be the same. For the same reason buying a $50 and $3 HDMI cable will give the same results.