• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking 4820k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lightz39

Hello everyone, I've been reading around how to best overclock my system. First my specs:

Motherboard: Asus P9X79 LE
Processor: Intel Core i7 4820k @ 3.7ghz
Memory: 16GB (4x4) 1866 Corsair Dominator Platinum
Video Card: Nvidia Geforce GTX 780ti Two way SLI
Cooler: Corsair liquid cooler.
Powersupply: Corsair AX1200i

I've had success using the auto overclocker that comes with my mobo but it sets the voltage to over 1.4. And changes the blck up from 100. I'm looking to hit a stable mark at 4.5 - 4.7. Does anyone have any suggestions on what to work with to push my cpu to its limits?

I'm pretty new to overclocking. I'll want to set a voltage offset of like +0.75 or whatever to hit 1.4 or less? Sync all cores to 46 or 47? What are some settings I should disable and enable to help with ocing?

Thanks for any input.

Welcome to the OCF,

Best is to use manual OC. Set CPU ratio to x42 , CPU voltage to 1.25V and check if it's working fine. No offsets etc, at this stage you test what your CPU can do.
When you make it work at 4.2GHz then you set x43 ratio and test the same , one more up etc till CPU lose stability. When you see it's not stable anymore then you raise voltage, let's say to 1.3V and check higher ratios.
I wouldn't go above 1.35V as temps are going up much faster above some point and I doubt you will overclock it much higher.
Auto OC is almost always setting too high voltage and generally are problems with stability so it's not recommended to use it.

To keep stability you have to raise voltage, lower temps or both. Worse part is that raising voltage you raise temps and every higher memory clock has lower tolerance on high temps.

Let's say it will run like this:

4.2GHz 1.20V
4.4GHz 1.25V