Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22
  1. #1
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile

    Adobe Acrobat Reader 2015 DC rdrcef.exe continuously sending info to Amazon

    Brand new Adobe Reader 2015 is out and Adobe installs file rdrcef.exe which continuously sends info to Amazon.
    Hard blocking rdrcef.exe is therefore a given as the only way to prevent third party servers having contact with our files, but it would be nice if there is a way to disable it in registry or options, please post if/when you find out how.

    While it is important for this program to get updated continuously due to obvious security concerns, Adobe appears to have made updating mandatory, taking away our choice between security and stability. Before 2015 DC version just came out, I know for a fact that some version 11 releases, like 11.0.9 was buggy and I did not install it on certain machines with unimportant disposable content on which we need STABILITY more than security, on which we only install updates which have been confirmed as stable on our systems.
    So if anyone figures out how to disable automatic updates only, please post.


    P.S. Of course there are excellent alternatives like http://www.sumatrapdfreader.org/down...df-viewer.html
    but that's not the point of this thread


    EDIT: SOLVED:
    If you want to use eServices then great, if not, here's the reg file to disable interaction between the files you read and cloud storage:


    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\DC\FeatureLockDown\cServices]

    "bToggleAdobeDocumentServices"=dword:00000001

    "bToggleAdobeSign"=dword:00000001

    "bTogglePrefSync"=dword:00000001

    "bUpdater"=dword:00000000
    Last edited by c627627; 04-10-15 at 10:09 AM.
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  2. #2
    Amazon is becoming more and more of a player in the 'cloud' with their AWS hosting solution. If I had to guess, something on the backend is hosted at Amazon, and the product is trying to phone home either for updates, license validation, data gathering, live ads, etc. Unfortunately, you'll probably only get your answer by reaching out to Adobe directly, or by disassembling the binary that is reaching out. And since it's a free product, I wouldn't hold my breath from Adobe.
    Corsair 500R
    Corsair CX600
    ASUS Z87-Plus
    Intel 4670k
    Cooler Master Seidon 120M
    Samsung 840 Evo 120gb
    Windows 8.1 Professional
    500gb WD Green
    1TB WD Green
    8GB DDR3-1600
    ASUS DirectCUII Top+ 270x 2GB

  3. Thanks!

    Janus67 (04-09-15)

  4. #3
    Benching Team Leader
    Buckeye Moderator
    Janus67's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Columbus
    Author Profile Benching Profile Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    agreed with pcg4l, that would be my guess as well (something with AWS)

    FWIW saw this on reddit:
    http://www.reddit.com/r/computertech..._dc_installer/

    Customized install that auto-removes the online services during install. (nothing fancy, just using adobe customization wizard)
    Last edited by Janus67; 04-09-15 at 10:27 AM.
    Haswell Benching and Gaming: ASRock Z87 OC Formula : Intel i7 4770k w/ Phanteks PH-TC14 : 16GB 4x4GB G.Skill TridentX DDR3-2666 : MSI GTX 1080 Gaming Z
    Other Components: Samsung 850 Evo 500GB SSD : 2TB Hitachi 7200rpm : Seasonic Platinum 1000W : 3x1440p: Asus MG279q, Auria EQ276W, Crossover P27Q


    Folding User Stats

  5. #4
    Member Mpegger's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    NYC
    Heatware Profile
    A game I play always tries to run a helper .exe file, and will fail to load if it is unable to read it and update it when needed, so you cannot just delete it or rename it, and it does this check every time you run the startup for the game. It also attempts to install it as a startup item in Windows. Even if you disable it in msconfig, it will make a new entry again the next time its run. Needless to say, it serves no real purpose other then appearing to phone home and constantly run in the background doing who knows what.

    What I did to disable it, was to change the permissions to deny all users from executing the file (it's called Traverse Folder/Execute File under the Advanced Permission settings under the Security tab of the file properties). By simply setting that one deny, the original executable to run the game can still read the file, update the file, but it will no longer be able to run. It also does not re-install itself as a startup item, which is something I think the unneeded .exe does itself.

    Give it a whirl and see if that keeps the rdrcef.exe from running, without the PDF viewer complaining.
    Main: NZXT Switch 810 | ASRock Z97 Extreme4 | i7 4790K| 32GiB | 780Ti
    ESXi Server: Lackrack Enterprise Edition | Dell R710 | 2 x Xeon X5570 | 96GiB | 14(28)TB ZFS-Raid10

    -----------------------------
    [GB ≠ GiB] [MB ≠ MiB] [kB ≠ kiB]
    "Apparently, Plaintiff believes that he could sue an egg company for fraud for labeling a carton of 12 eggs a “dozen,” because some bakers would view a “dozen” as including 13 items." - Western Digital 2006

    "One World, One Web, One Program" - Microsoft
    "Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Hitler

    Heatware

  6. #5
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    I was using Comodo Firewall freeware to simply block the exe from accessing the internet:
    http://download.comodo.com/cis/downl..._installer.exe

    ...but was hoping for a settings or a registry fix that would not require a hard block...


    Good news on the update front though, these registry entries may disable it, I am trying to figure out registry text for version 11 and version DC 2015:
    http://www.adobe.com/devnet-docs/acr...eyname_1_20396
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  7. #6
    Sparkomatic Moderator
    Audioaficionado's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medford, Orygun
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    rdrcef.exe? Hmmm... can't find it in services or processes. I had a BSoD in the middle of the night so if it's an auto start, it should be running.
    .....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
    ......................."Folding is a marathon, not a sprint." audioaficionado
    Super Micro X8DTH-iF, dual Westmere Xeons E5620 @2.4GHz >2xGPU3 FAH 24/7
    Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz
    Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ PC-3200, Dual 2.4 Prestonia M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
    Micronics W6-Lightning, 288Mb Crucial ECC EDO, Dual Pentium Pro @200MHz
    Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

    Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
    "Don't let what you can't do interfere with what you can do." Coach John Wooden


    .........................Folding User Stats

  8. #7
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    That's because it's brand new. The just released new version of Adobe Acrobat Reader DC 2015 installs it.
    If you want to use eServices then great, if not, here's the reg file to disable interaction between the files you read and cloud storage:


    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\DC\FeatureLockDown\cServices]

    "bToggleAdobeDocumentServices"=dword:00000001

    "bToggleAdobeSign"=dword:00000001

    "bTogglePrefSync"=dword:00000001

    "bUpdater"=dword:00000000
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  9. #8
    Sparkomatic Moderator
    Audioaficionado's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medford, Orygun
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    I'm still on v11.x w/newest updates. What are the advantages of the newest AR?
    .....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
    ......................."Folding is a marathon, not a sprint." audioaficionado
    Super Micro X8DTH-iF, dual Westmere Xeons E5620 @2.4GHz >2xGPU3 FAH 24/7
    Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz
    Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ PC-3200, Dual 2.4 Prestonia M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
    Micronics W6-Lightning, 288Mb Crucial ECC EDO, Dual Pentium Pro @200MHz
    Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

    Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
    "Don't let what you can't do interfere with what you can do." Coach John Wooden


    .........................Folding User Stats

  10. #9
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    1. On some systems it comes with this bug, it is popping up all over the internet as we speak:

    Every time the program closes it is entering Event ID 16 into the windows event log with the following message:
    "The description for Event ID 16 from source Adobe Reader cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.

    If the event originated on another computer, the display information had to be saved with the event.

    The following information was included with the event..."

    2. I repeatedly uninstalled/rebooted/installed/rebooted both version 11 and the new version DC 2015 to clearly see a slower performance when I open a standard 100 page pdf magazine, some pages are displayed a lot quicker in Adobe Reader 11 than in the just released Adobe Reader 2015 DC.


    I will not be including Adobe Reader 2015 in my OS image next Patch Tuesday, having tested it all day.
    I will test future versions when they come out, but something tells me that graphics lag will not go away, it may be one of those things like with new Yahoo email or new Google maps... developers today don't consider it a slowdown if something lasts a second or two longer... they say 'well what's an extra second or two?'
    Last edited by c627627; 04-10-15 at 02:11 PM.
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  11. #10
    Sparkomatic Moderator
    Audioaficionado's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Medford, Orygun
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Thanx for the info. Looks like I'll be standing pat with v11.
    .....................................My HeatwareMyFAH Stats
    ......................."Folding is a marathon, not a sprint." audioaficionado
    Super Micro X8DTH-iF, dual Westmere Xeons E5620 @2.4GHz >2xGPU3 FAH 24/7
    Asus Commando, 8GB GSkill PC6400, Q6600 @3.0GHz
    Iwill DH800, 2GB OCZ PC-3200, Dual 2.4 Prestonia M0 Xeons 1.5v/880/3300
    Micronics W6-Lightning, 288Mb Crucial ECC EDO, Dual Pentium Pro @200MHz
    Help improve overclockers.com! Get involved!

    Never argue with a fool. Onlookers often can't tell the difference.
    "Don't let what you can't do interfere with what you can do." Coach John Wooden


    .........................Folding User Stats

  12. #11
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by c627627 View Post

    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Adobe\Acrobat Reader\DC\FeatureLockDown\cServices]

    "bToggleAdobeDocumentServices"=dword:00000001

    "bToggleAdobeSign"=dword:00000001

    "bTogglePrefSync"=dword:00000001

    "bUpdater"=dword:00000000
    This doesn't stop Acrobat Reader DC to send data to cloud. I imported these registry setting, yet still can see that rdrcef.exe is connecting to cloud.acrobat.com

    Name:  Przechwytywanie.PNG
Views: 67531
Size:  2.0 KB

  13. #12
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    After adding that registry in, and rebooting the computer, what program did you use to intercept rdrcef.exe please?


    By the way, separate from this, another piece of useful info:
    To permanently disable Tool Pane from showing up every time you open a pdf document in Adobe Reader DC 2015:
    Go to program directory, for example:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Acrobat Reader DC\Reader\AcroApp\ENU

    Create a new folder and name it (for example) Disabled
    Move these 3 files from the "ENU" folder into the new "Disabled" folder:
    AppCenter_R.aapp
    Home.aapp
    Viewer.aapp.

    [If you just move the "Viewer" file, if you clicked on "Home" or "Tools" on the toolbar you couldn't go back to the "Document." - moving all 3 files files takes care of that issue.]
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  14. #13
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Hi.
    Yes - PC was rebooted after adding these entries to registry. I use fiddler to monitor HTTP traffic and it still shows that rdrcef.exe is connecting to cloud.acrobat.com.

  15. Thanks!

    c627627 (04-27-15)

  16. #14
    Personally I find pdf readers do not need internet access in general. I would not recommend adobe's unless you must use it and even then it still doesn't require it-I use tracker's pdf xchange. Just add cloud.acrobat.com to your hosts.
    Win7 Pro x64
    Asus 24" led / Vizio M 49" smart
    Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+ / CM Silencio 352
    AMD A10-7850K @4.5Ghz / CM Nepton 120XL aio
    Noctua NF-F12 x3 / Phobya TCP 4port controller
    SeaSonic 400 Plat Fanless / CyberPower 1500PFC ups
    G.Skill TridentX ddr3 2400 2x8gb
    128gb 840Evo msata / x2 6tb WD red's / x1 2tb
    Audioengine A5+'s / S8 sub / D1 dac
    Max Nighthawk x8 mx blue k/b / $7 mouse
    XSlate R12 Win7 Pro I7-4610Y t/s wacom 12.5" tablet

  17. #15
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Quote Originally Posted by habbajabba View Post
    I use tracker's pdf xchange
    Thanks for pointing me to this great software. I will get rid of Adobe Reader and start using X-Change Viewer.

  18. #16
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    I tested a bunch of them a while ago and found this one, check it out too:
    http://www.sumatrapdfreader.org/down...df-viewer.html

    Even opens .epub, .mobi & .djvu files.
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  19. #17

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    Funny that the internet brought me here. I use the Adobe customization wizard to drop anything I don't want, and even entering the registry settings to deny certain things. Nice post, c-627-Dub (post #7). I create a virtual app with Liquidware's FlexApp, so this may come in handy.
    Last edited by g0dM@n; 12-11-15 at 12:42 PM.
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  20. Thanks!

    c627627 (12-11-15)

  21. #18
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    I've gone back to Adobe Reader 11 since then, after finding out several additional options that you could not turn off in version DC.
    I started a thread at Adobe Forums https://forums.adobe.com/message/7761948#7761948 and Adobe people actually read that and included the option to turn off those annoyances (!) thereafter. But I still did not go back to DC, seeing how messed up their initial approach to making it was...

    I use ocforums as my personal cloud storage, sometimes you mods delete my threads not realizing they aren't directed at anyone else and just serve that purpose for me...


    I absolutely hit my own posts while doing an internet search too... that's why I try to post everything in enough detail so that a 4-year-old can follow it.
    I've helped myself over the years in everything from Windows to car stereo installation.
    A few months ago, my stereo malfunctioned and had to be replaced and I saved myself hours of time and frustration by following this, without which I would have had no clue how to do it if I didn't post in so much detail:
    http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/11...-speakers.html

    As far as computer-related stuff - my own posts at ocforums have helped me more than anything over the years...!!!
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  22. #19

    Inactive Moderator
    g0dM@n's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    20mi W of NYCity, USA
    I do something similar to what you do, for almost everything, except I do it a bit differently. I don't post a thread for everything as some of it could be personal, or confidential (pertaining to work). Instead, I have a "KB" on my file-server that I use text files, and IE shortcuts. Most of the time, if I get info from a web link, I just put the web link at the top of my text file and then wrote my own notes. If I created a thread, I'll link to it at the top of the text/doc file and then I copy/paste the entire contents in. Why copy/paste? Because you never know if/when a website/domain is brought down.
    ASUS Crosshair V *Water* | FX-8320 Enzotech Sapphire CPU block | 8GB Mushkin 2133 | 6970 2GB | 256GB SSD | SB X-Fi Elite Pro | Corsair 520W Modular | 3x 26" Asus VW266H Eyefinity 5760x1200 | DDC pump with petra top @ 18w, Thermochill HE 120.3 w/ 3x120x38mm Deltas 152cfm on controller |
    Xbox 360 Gamertag: g0dMAn114
    Top 5 Heatware
    **IHS Removal Tutorial**HotFlashing Tutorial**DFI NF4 UTT Problems**Funny-ChuckNorrisFacts**Custom RAM Cooler**
    nightelph: I wanted to play so bad last night but I was OC'ing my video card.

  23. Thanks!

    c627627 (12-11-15)

  24. #20
    c(π*199780) Senior Member c627627's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    Kansas
    Author Profile
    LOL I do exactly the same thing for the same reasons haha,

    And when I post threads trying to sync EXACTLY the kind of files you described from PC to my phone, 9/10 people cannot understand why in the world I would want to do that instead of *JUST* keeping it in the cloud
    Open the pod bay doors, Cortana.

  25. Thanks!

    g0dM@n (12-11-15)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •