Page 152 of 162 FirstFirst ... 52 102 142 151 152 153 ... LastLast
Results 3,021 to 3,040 of 3235
  1. #3021
    Senior Member DaveB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    Quote Originally Posted by Nagorak View Post
    I'm not sure which Asus X370 you have, but I'm not having any problems unzipping on my X370 Prime.

    Do the AIDA tests read/write from your drive? The zip problem to sounds to me like a read or write problem with your SSD (or the board's interface with it). Do you have another one you can try out to compare? I definitely wouldn't just ignore that problem because it could be a sign of something a lot more serious, which could lead to serious data corruption.
    I had three boards, MSI B350 Tomahawk, ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming K4 and the Asus Prime X370 Pro, and had three different CPUs, two 1700s and one 1700X. The large file unzip with 3DMark was a problem on all of them. So, yeah, I thought there's some issue with the NVMe/PCIe X4 interface or something in Ryzen itself. So I moved the file to a SATA SSD and tried to unzip there and got the same failure. It was no big deal with 7-ZIP doing the unzip and I had no other such issues with any other programs or normal functions. Smaller files unzip normally.

    I went through all the AIDA64 Engineer benchmarks on all motherboards/CPUs with no issues, even overclocked. I posted the results here earlier in this thread. All run on the NVME drive with no data corruption at any time.
    1. Xigmatek GIGAS mATX Case, HP IPIWB-PB X79 mATX, Corsair 750W Modular PSU, Xeon E5-1620 @ 4.3 GHz (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600, Sapphire HD 7950
    2. SilverStone SG05 Mini ITX Case, Seasonic SFX 350W PSU, ECS Z97I Drone ITX, Pentium G3258 (2C/2T), 8GB DDR3-1600, EVGA GTX 1060 SC 3GB
    3. Acer AS5750-9422 Laptop, 15.6", Core i7-2670QM (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600, HD 3000 Graphics

  2. #3022
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Nagorak View Post
    I probably wouldn't bother pushing much higher than 1.4v, and preferably under that. The last 100 MHz on these chips takes so much extra voltage that it's questionable whether it's worth the extra heat, power and likely reduced longevity of the chip. You could try for 4 GHz at 1.4, but if that's not stable I'd probably just stick to 3.9.

    Also, keep in mind that the LLC settings on the boards basically increases voltage under load, to try to compensate for it dropping too low. So, it may run up to .025 volts higher than what you're set to (1.375 would actually be as high as 1.4).

    - - - Updated - - -



    I'm not sure which Asus X370 you have, but I'm not having any problems unzipping on my X370 Prime.

    Do the AIDA tests read/write from your drive? The zip problem to sounds to me like a read or write problem with your SSD (or the board's interface with it). Do you have another one you can try out to compare? I definitely wouldn't just ignore that problem because it could be a sign of something a lot more serious, which could lead to serious data corruption.
    SSD is fine in my case. Was unzipping Samsung SSD magician ironically. My aegis is rated for ddr4-3000 @1.35V. was running at ddr4-2933 @1.35v.

    The boot issues described in my post were odd, and do not occur when running @ddr4-2133. Also had some issues installing applications. They would hang, and never complete. This also was resolved by going back to 2133. I'm positive it's isolated to a ram stability issue, as the symptoms all disappear @2133. I just don't know what knobbies to turn to make it right. Also, I cannot find anything from gskill with regards to the max safe voltage on the sticks. Merely 1.35v @3000 and 1.2v @2133 according to SPD.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  3. #3023
    Senior Member DaveB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Worked fine after raising the voltage... is that fine for its stock speeds?
    I'm not sure who you're responding to, but my post was the next one up. The G.Skill Aegis ran fine at the Asus Prime X370 Pro DOCP auto setting at 2400 and 2666. It only needed the voltage bump at 2933. It also ran at 2400 and 2666 at the A-XMP auto setting on the MSI B350 Tomahawk, but would only run at 2400 on the ASRock Falal1ty Gaming K4. Extra voltage did not help on either of the B350 boards.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    SSD is fine in my case. Was unzipping Samsung SSD magician ironically. My aegis is rated for ddr4-3000 @1.35V. was running at ddr4-2933 @1.35v.

    The boot issues described in my post were odd, and do not occur when running @ddr4-2133. Also had some issues installing applications. They would hang, and never complete. This also was resolved by going back to 2133. I'm positive it's isolated to a ram stability issue, as the symptoms all disappear @2133. I just don't know what knobbies to turn to make it right. Also, I cannot find anything from gskill with regards to the max safe voltage on the sticks. Merely 1.35v @3000 and 1.2v @2133 according to SPD.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    I think you need to bump the voltage a bit. Anything up to 1.4V is fine, in fact, you could even go a little more but I had no memory-related instability after that small voltage bump.
    1. Xigmatek GIGAS mATX Case, HP IPIWB-PB X79 mATX, Corsair 750W Modular PSU, Xeon E5-1620 @ 4.3 GHz (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600, Sapphire HD 7950
    2. SilverStone SG05 Mini ITX Case, Seasonic SFX 350W PSU, ECS Z97I Drone ITX, Pentium G3258 (2C/2T), 8GB DDR3-1600, EVGA GTX 1060 SC 3GB
    3. Acer AS5750-9422 Laptop, 15.6", Core i7-2670QM (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600, HD 3000 Graphics

  4. #3024
    Senior Member Nagorak's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Yeah, I think going up to 1.4v is necessary to get the boards to boot at higher memory speeds, unfortunately. For whatever reason just running at the stock 1.35v hangs on boot, but that small increase to 1.4 fixes it.
    Nagorak
    HEAT

  5. #3025
    Benching Team Leader
    Super Moderator
    Johan45's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Ontario,Canada
    Benching Profile Folding Profile SETI Profile Heatware Profile
    Does your board have a section for boot voltages? A boost there will likely get you over the hang and leave running volts at 1.35

  6. #3026
    Quote Originally Posted by Nagorak View Post
    It looks like my rebooting problem in Prime95 might be related to the Gigabyte Gaming 3. I'm not seeing it with the Asus X370 Prime. The power delivery on the Gaming 3 might just not be up to the task. It's unfortunate because I really like the Gaming 3 otherwise.

    I also got some Flare X 3200, however I'm not actually convinced it's any different than the Trident Z (other than costing a lot more). I'll have to do some more comparison, but I think that high end Flare X/Trident Z/Ripjaws are all basically the same modules with different heat spreaders. We know they're all Samsung B-Die, and I'm not sure there's any more cherry picking of chips beyond that.
    How is your memory working on the Asus X370 Prime? I would RMA the Gigabyte Gaming 3 to the place of purchase, Woomack is not having that problem with his.
    Last edited by wingman99; 03-17-17 at 02:27 PM.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  7. #3027
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Johan45 View Post
    Does your board have a section for boot voltages? A boost there will likely get you over the hang and leave running volts at 1.35
    I'll have to look when I get a chance. School is whooping my rear right now. What would it be labeled as? Woomack was saying to bump vttddr some which I did, but probably not enough tbh.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  8. #3028
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    So I was looking into the memory issue I am having: the gskill aegis kit is rated for 3000 @ command rate 2N. It appears the mobos currently only support 1N/1T right now. So I need to feed the beast some voltage seems the way to go.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  9. #3029
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    So stupid question. Everyone is saying prime isn't the good stress test anymore, so what should I use to check stability?

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  10. #3030
    Member Jarhead7236's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Central CA
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    So stupid question. Everyone is saying prime isn't the good stress test anymore, so what should I use to check stability?

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    OCCT ?
    Asrock Z-270M-ITX / i5 7600K Kaby Lake / G.Skill TridentZ series DDR4 4000 8gb x 2 / EVGA 4Gb 1050ti / Seasonic M12II 520W

    Asrock H270M Pro-4 /i3 7350K Kaby Lake / Corsair Vengeance DDR2400 8GB x 2 / Seasonic M12II 520W

    HEAT

  11. #3031
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by Jarhead7236 View Post
    OCCT ?
    Haven't tried that yet. For a LONG time I've just moved this 27.9 P95 folder (portable zip extraction) from one windows install to the next. I just wasn't sure what I should be using to stress test at this point cause everyone keeps saying P95 is overkill and too heavy of a load to test with...

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  12. #3032
    Member Jarhead7236's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Central CA
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    Haven't tried that yet. For a LONG time I've just moved this 27.9 P95 folder (portable zip extraction) from one windows install to the next. I just wasn't sure what I should be using to stress test at this point cause everyone keeps saying P95 is overkill and too heavy of a load to test with...

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    i've always used P95 as well...even "back in the day"...but i keep hearing about OCCT.
    Asrock Z-270M-ITX / i5 7600K Kaby Lake / G.Skill TridentZ series DDR4 4000 8gb x 2 / EVGA 4Gb 1050ti / Seasonic M12II 520W

    Asrock H270M Pro-4 /i3 7350K Kaby Lake / Corsair Vengeance DDR2400 8GB x 2 / Seasonic M12II 520W

    HEAT

  13. #3033
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    Haven't tried that yet. For a LONG time I've just moved this 27.9 P95 folder (portable zip extraction) from one windows install to the next. I just wasn't sure what I should be using to stress test at this point cause everyone keeps saying P95 is overkill and too heavy of a load to test with...

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    I think Prime95 v28.10 is fine my temperature only goes up to 85c with air cooling. Prime95 is a good test, it does not use system memory that much, mostly fits in cache because it is doing math calculations so the Integer and Floating point transistors switch as fast as the clock speed. Other programs don't feed the CPU data that fast do to system memory overhead, unless you are running math calculation program with AVX/FMA3.
    i5 6600K OC 4.5GHz
    Cooler Master Hyper 212
    Motherboard Gigabyte Z170-HD3
    G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 CL 14-14-14-34
    EVGA Black Edition Superclocked GTX 1070

  14. #3034
    Member mackerel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    UK
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    So stupid question. Everyone is saying prime isn't the good stress test anymore, so what should I use to check stability?
    For CPUs which are FMA3 weak, which includes Ryzen, I've found Realbench to provide a good alternate test at finding instability quickly and effectively. However I'd use it in addition to P95, not instead of. They cover different cases.

    Quote Originally Posted by wingman99 View Post
    I think Prime95 v28.10 is fine my temperature only goes up to 85c with air cooling. Prime95 is a good test, it does not use system memory that much, mostly fits in cache because it is doing math calculations so the Integer and Floating point transistors switch as fast as the clock speed. Other programs don't feed the CPU data that fast do to system memory overhead, unless you are running math calculation program with AVX/FMA3.
    If the workload fits in the cache or not depends on the FFT size. For "large" FFT it certainly doesn't fit in the cache, and will stress the ram. For "small" FFT it does fit in the cache, and stresses the execution units more, but not the ram.

    Also note that the release versions of P95 (28.xx) don't detect Ryzen correctly, and doesn't use FMA3. There is a test release of 29.1 at link below if you want to try an updated one. The CPU detection is updated so it handles SMT now, and it can use FMA3 transform. It seems to give slightly higher benchmark numbers than Bulldozer/K10 it was using in 28.xx.
    http://www.mersenneforum.org/showpos...0&postcount=93
    Main box: i7-6700k, Asus VIII Hero, Noctua NH-D14, Ripjaws V 3200C16 2x8GB, GTX 980 Ti, In Win 303, Samsung SM951 512GB, LG 34UC87
    VR box: i7-6700k, Asus Z170I Pro Gaming, Noctua NH-D9L, Kingston Hyper-X 2x8GB 2666, GTX 1070 FE, NZXT Manta, Samsung PM951 256GB, HTC Vive
    Test box: i5-6600k, MSI Z170A Gaming Pro, EK stuff, Ripjaws 4 3333C16 4x4GB, GTX 980 Ti, Corsair Air 540, Toshiba 128GB SSD, BenQ XL2411
    Ryzen box: R7 1700, Asus Prime X370-Pro, Noctua NH-U14S, Corsair Vengeance 3000 2x4GB, R9 280X, TBD, Kingston SSDNow 240GB, TBD
    Other heating: i7-6700HQ, i5-5675C, E5-2683v3, 2x E5-2650, i5-4570S, i3-6100, i3-4360, 2x i3-4150T.

  15. #3035
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveB View Post
    I had three boards, MSI B350 Tomahawk, ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming K4 and the Asus Prime X370 Pro, and had three different CPUs, two 1700s and one 1700X. The large file unzip with 3DMark was a problem on all of them. So, yeah, I thought there's some issue with the NVMe/PCIe X4 interface or something in Ryzen itself. So I moved the file to a SATA SSD and tried to unzip there and got the same failure. It was no big deal with 7-ZIP doing the unzip and I had no other such issues with any other programs or normal functions. Smaller files unzip normally.

    I went through all the AIDA64 Engineer benchmarks on all motherboards/CPUs with no issues, even overclocked. I posted the results here earlier in this thread. All run on the NVME drive with no data corruption at any time.
    Just found out my system has the same damn problem. Wanted to do some comparative benches. Running on what I thought was a fully stable overclock -- tested with several multiple-hour runs of AIDA64 (CPU, FPU, Cache, System Memory, GPU), RealBench (16GB), Prime95 (Blend), Y-Cruncher (defaults), and some actual gaming -- I can't get the damn 3DMark or PCMark files to unzip. Frustration ensues. Even at full Auto settings and freshly-downloaded files it still gives an "unspecified" error. And this isn't an NVMe problem -- it's unzipping from one folder on the SATA HD to another folder on the same SATA HD. No problems with other zip files either.

    Not only do I have a dud overclocker, but the damn thing can't even unzip some files correctly.

    Will have to try 7-Zip after I have calmed down and gotten some sleep...
    inFEKshun // Thermaltake Core P5 Green Edition ATX Case // Seasonic Platinum SS-660XP2 660W PSU // AMD Ryzen R7 1700 AM4 CPU // ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero X370 ATX MB // G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR 2x8GB DDR4 RAM // EVGA GTX 1080 FTW Hydro Copper 8GB PCIe GPU // Samsung 960 Pro 2TB M.2 NVMe SSD // Toshiba X300 4TB 7,200 RPM SATA HDD // Thermaltake Pacific RL480 Radiator // Eight Thermaltake Riing 12 LED Fans // Thermaltake Pacific PR22-D5 Silent Reservoir/Pump Combo // EK-Supremacy EVO Copper+Acetal CPU Block // Eight EK-ACF 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Black Compression Fittings // PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Crystal Clear Tubing // Thermaltake 1000 UV Green Coolant // Acer XB270HU bprz 27" 2560x1440 144 Hz IPS G-Sync Gaming Monitor // Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB USB Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown Switches) // Corsair Gaming SABRE RGB Optical USB Mouse // Corsair Gaming VOID RGB 7.1 HD USB Headset // Corsair Gaming MM400 Compact High Speed Mouse Mat // Build Log
    Current Speeds using 1002 BIOS -- CPU: 3800MHz (38.00 x 100MHz) at 1.351v, RAM: 3200 (DDR4-3200 setting x 100MHz) 14-14-14-14-34-1T at 1.351v, GPU: 1721/1860/2113 Core 5300 Memory
    Former Project: RED Glare Build Log

  16. #3036
    Senior Member DaveB's Avatar
    10 Year Badge
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Gainesville, VA
    Quote Originally Posted by MNMadman View Post
    Not only do I have a dud overclocker, but the damn thing can't even unzip some files correctly.

    Will have to try 7-Zip after I have calmed down and gotten some sleep...
    I think it's pretty clear that the Ryzen 7 series just do not OC very much - 4 GHz to 4.1 GHz seems to be the top, while 3.8 GHz to 3.9 GHz is the norm. On the upside, the performance at 3.8 GHz to 3.9 GHz is excellent and we just need Asus, ASRock, Gigabyte, MSI to get their acts together with memory compatibility. That's assuming, it isn't the Ryzen IMC that's the issue.
    1. Xigmatek GIGAS mATX Case, HP IPIWB-PB X79 mATX, Corsair 750W Modular PSU, Xeon E5-1620 @ 4.3 GHz (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600, Sapphire HD 7950
    2. SilverStone SG05 Mini ITX Case, Seasonic SFX 350W PSU, ECS Z97I Drone ITX, Pentium G3258 (2C/2T), 8GB DDR3-1600, EVGA GTX 1060 SC 3GB
    3. Acer AS5750-9422 Laptop, 15.6", Core i7-2670QM (4C/8T), 16GB DDR3-1600, HD 3000 Graphics

  17. Thanks!

    wingman99 (03-18-17)

  18. #3037
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveB View Post
    I think it's pretty clear that the Ryzen 7 series just do not OC very much - 4 GHz to 4.1 GHz seems to be the top, while 3.8 GHz to 3.9 GHz is the norm.
    Oh yeah, I know. The reason I call mine a dud is the voltage. Most that hit 3.8GHz can do it on 1.2v or so while mine requires 1.351v. Mine can only do 3.65GHz on 1.2v.

    I got 3DMark to install, but PCMark failed the install. Re-downloading again.

    Edit: PCMark re-downloaded, 7-Zip unzipped with no errors (there were two the first time), installed correctly. I'm going to try re-downloading 3DMark and see if I can get an error-free 7-Zip unzip. It installed fine, but I'm curious...

    Edit2: 3DMark re-downloaded ... again. This time got an error-free 7-Zip unzip (three the first time). Uninstalled existing 3DMark and re-installed because of that.
    Last edited by MNMadman; 03-18-17 at 10:41 AM.
    inFEKshun // Thermaltake Core P5 Green Edition ATX Case // Seasonic Platinum SS-660XP2 660W PSU // AMD Ryzen R7 1700 AM4 CPU // ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero X370 ATX MB // G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR 2x8GB DDR4 RAM // EVGA GTX 1080 FTW Hydro Copper 8GB PCIe GPU // Samsung 960 Pro 2TB M.2 NVMe SSD // Toshiba X300 4TB 7,200 RPM SATA HDD // Thermaltake Pacific RL480 Radiator // Eight Thermaltake Riing 12 LED Fans // Thermaltake Pacific PR22-D5 Silent Reservoir/Pump Combo // EK-Supremacy EVO Copper+Acetal CPU Block // Eight EK-ACF 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Black Compression Fittings // PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Crystal Clear Tubing // Thermaltake 1000 UV Green Coolant // Acer XB270HU bprz 27" 2560x1440 144 Hz IPS G-Sync Gaming Monitor // Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB USB Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown Switches) // Corsair Gaming SABRE RGB Optical USB Mouse // Corsair Gaming VOID RGB 7.1 HD USB Headset // Corsair Gaming MM400 Compact High Speed Mouse Mat // Build Log
    Current Speeds using 1002 BIOS -- CPU: 3800MHz (38.00 x 100MHz) at 1.351v, RAM: 3200 (DDR4-3200 setting x 100MHz) 14-14-14-14-34-1T at 1.351v, GPU: 1721/1860/2113 Core 5300 Memory
    Former Project: RED Glare Build Log

  19. #3038
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by MNMadman View Post
    Oh yeah, I know. The reason I call mine a dud is the voltage. Most that hit 3.8GHz can do it on 1.2v or so while mine requires 1.351v. Mine can only do 3.65GHz on 1.2v.

    I got 3DMark to install, but PCMark failed the install. Re-downloading again.

    Edit: PCMark re-downloaded, 7-Zip unzipped with no errors (there were two the first time), installed correctly. I'm going to try re-downloading 3DMark and see if I can get an error-free 7-Zip unzip. It installed fine, but I'm curious...

    Edit2: 3DMark re-downloaded ... again. This time got an error-free 7-Zip unzip (three the first time). Uninstalled existing 3DMark and re-installed because of that.
    What's your RAM at and what's its current timings vs rated speed/timings? It seems to me due to the forced 1T command rate, most modules are pushed harder because of that.

    All my problems with memory went away after I bumped my Vsoc to 1.1V, and gave my RAM a smidge more voltage than it was asking for in the XMP profile. Was very stable when I started OCing my CPU. For me, my temps are my limit. The wraith spire is barely handling the 3.8ghz OC. I'm just waiting on my 212 adapter, but it should be in by Monday.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

  20. #3039
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluefalcon13 View Post
    What's your RAM at and what's its current timings vs rated speed/timings? It seems to me due to the forced 1T command rate, most modules are pushed harder because of that.

    All my problems with memory went away after I bumped my Vsoc to 1.1V, and gave my RAM a smidge more voltage than it was asking for in the XMP profile. Was very stable when I started OCing my CPU. For me, my temps are my limit. The wraith spire is barely handling the 3.8ghz OC. I'm just waiting on my 212 adapter, but it should be in by Monday.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    All of this happened on the 0038 BIOS, which is the 2T Command Rate version (they do have the 1001 BIOS which is the 1T Command Rate version, but I haven't used that yet). 0038 and 1001 are identical, except for the Command Rate.

    And it happened even at all Auto settings (2133, 3.0GHz, etc).
    inFEKshun // Thermaltake Core P5 Green Edition ATX Case // Seasonic Platinum SS-660XP2 660W PSU // AMD Ryzen R7 1700 AM4 CPU // ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero X370 ATX MB // G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR 2x8GB DDR4 RAM // EVGA GTX 1080 FTW Hydro Copper 8GB PCIe GPU // Samsung 960 Pro 2TB M.2 NVMe SSD // Toshiba X300 4TB 7,200 RPM SATA HDD // Thermaltake Pacific RL480 Radiator // Eight Thermaltake Riing 12 LED Fans // Thermaltake Pacific PR22-D5 Silent Reservoir/Pump Combo // EK-Supremacy EVO Copper+Acetal CPU Block // Eight EK-ACF 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Black Compression Fittings // PrimoChill PrimoFlex Advanced LRT 3/8" ID 5/8" OD Crystal Clear Tubing // Thermaltake 1000 UV Green Coolant // Acer XB270HU bprz 27" 2560x1440 144 Hz IPS G-Sync Gaming Monitor // Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB USB Keyboard (Cherry MX Brown Switches) // Corsair Gaming SABRE RGB Optical USB Mouse // Corsair Gaming VOID RGB 7.1 HD USB Headset // Corsair Gaming MM400 Compact High Speed Mouse Mat // Build Log
    Current Speeds using 1002 BIOS -- CPU: 3800MHz (38.00 x 100MHz) at 1.351v, RAM: 3200 (DDR4-3200 setting x 100MHz) 14-14-14-14-34-1T at 1.351v, GPU: 1721/1860/2113 Core 5300 Memory
    Former Project: RED Glare Build Log

  21. #3040
    Bluefalcon13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Folding Profile Heatware Profile
    Quote Originally Posted by MNMadman View Post
    All of this happened on the 0038 BIOS, which is the 2T Command Rate version (they do have the 1001 BIOS which is the 1T Command Rate version, but I haven't used that yet). 0038 and 1001 are identical, except for the Command Rate.

    And it happened even at all Auto settings (2133, 3.0GHz, etc).
    Ahhh. Crosshair bios with 2T. Hopefully they get that over to us X370-Pro owners soon enough.

    Sent from my Nexus 6 using Tapatalk
    AMD Ryzen 7 1700, 3.7ghz @1.1875V, CM 212 EVO
    Asus Prime X370-PRO
    2x8gig G.Skill Aegis Series DDR4-3000 @ DDR4-2933
    XFX RX 480 8GB, factory OC(1288 core, 1200 ram)- RX-480P836BM
    Samsung 830 256gb SataIII (Windows 10)
    NZXT S340 w/ Phanteks RGB LED Strip kit
    Antec HCG-750M Power Supply

    Lenovo Yoga 910 - 4k 14' display, i7-7500u, 16gb ddr4-2133, 512gb NVMe SSD

    Heatware

Page 152 of 162 FirstFirst ... 52 102 142 151 152 153 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •