• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PSU Sleeving...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Itachiii

Hey guys, I'm in the process of sleeving my new PSU (EVGA SUPERnova 750G2). Since it's my first time sleeving I chose to start with the VGA cable. By the time I removed the heatshrink tubing and the factory plastic sleeving I noticed a capacitor connected to the pins 1 and 4 of the connector. How can I sleeve it?

Thanks in advance

It would be helpful to post those same pictures I asked for/you gave me in PM here. ;)

After looking at those pictures and reading this post, it sounds like it was sleeved already from the factory, so I would sleeve it again. I do not recall seeing that cap on my VGA plugs and by your wording it was already sleeved so as I said, it makes sense to sleeve it again.

Last edited:
I would have just sleaved over it. A lot of devices have in-line capacitors (many USB cables, etc as well)

Itachii, for clarity, are you individually sleeving each cable? Is that why you are having trouble??

Itachii, for clarity, are you individually sleeving each cable? Is that why you are having trouble??

Yes, sorry that I didn't mention it.I use 3mm paracord and I sleeve each cable individually. In order to sleeve it though, I have to remove the capacitor and solder it back to the cable if I choose to do so, which is really dangerous I guess since any fault to the wiring or the soldering could possibly fry my card or my PSU. Any ideas? :/

I might leave them as they are.. Too much risk for 2 cables but I don't like it on the other hand. I will check on the cable that I ruined if I can pull it apart carefully. Now, I saw somewhere in the forum once some thread-like cable combs to keep the sleeved cables in order. How are they called?