• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

G.Skill Ripjaws

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BlueNostromo

I currently am running 12Gb of Ripjaws 12800 1600mhz ram. 2x4gb and 2x2gb. I was wondering if it would be okay to set them to 1866mhz and not have any problems? Would that change my CL and basically be pointless? I have never done anything with ram before so sorry if i sound stupid.

Im currently at 1600mhz CL 11. Should I try just dropping the CL to 9 or even 8, or upping the mhz to 1866 and sticking with 10/9?

No one can tell you for sure, you have to experiment and see what the memory will do. Raising the frequency or tightening the timings will likely require raising the memory voltage either way. One way to attack it would be to loosen the timings and set the frequency to 1866. If that works, then work on tightening the timings until you run into stability problems.

There are several, Prime95 (use large FFT test for an hour at least), HyperPi (32M test). If those complete then you're probably good.

Well... The Ripjaws did not like 1866... had to reset my CMOS. I guess Ill stay on 1600mhz and drop the CL

First I would try it with one set of ram, the 2x4 set. Those GSkills should run at 1866 9-10-9-28 with 1.6v or less IMO , If you're still having trouble raise the voltage to you CPU_NB, they can be a bit weak on some FX CPUs and need a bump to 1.25v maybe more.

They didn't want to take 1866mhz at all. I'm currently at 1600mhz 8-8-8-24 @ 1.62v. (I just stuck my voltage between what people have been able to do online and have stress tested them on P95 blend)

UPDATE: I had a random crash during the Witcher 3, so I bumped it up to 1.64v

Last edited:
Use memtest86 Grab the USB version, not the pro. And flash it to a USB thumbdrive with Rufus.