• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need some serious advice on desktop build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mstew

Registered
Hey, I am rather new to the build your own PC scene but after a few weeks of researching (with very little idea on what I was doing) I have put together a few parts. I am fairly certain they are compatible but not at all certain whether they are what I am looking for. I have a budget of up to $1500 and I am trying to put together a rig that can handle games like far cry 4 with a decent frame rate at 1080p (I do not need to spend all my money). I don't need a monitor or hard drive or any of the peripherals but I do need advice on whether the parts I have listed are what I am looking for or whether I can save some serious money if they are a bit of overkill.
-Intel Core i5-4690K 3.5GHz Quad-Core Processor
-ASRock Z97 Anniversary ATX LGA1150 Motherboard
-G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory
-Crucial BX100 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
-EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2GB FTW ACX Video Card
-Corsair 200R ATX Mid Tower Case
-Corsair CX 430W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply

Thanks heaps for the help!

So far your components look good are compatible. You might want to wait for someone else to chime in and give you fine tuning advice. I'm not that up date currently.
A question I have though is, where are you located? Your build adds up to about 800 USD if I see it correctly. I would definitly look forward to a more powerful GPU if you have the budget. I'm thinking something like a GTX 970 maybe.