• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD vs Intel

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dolk

I once overclocked an Intel
Have you ever wanted to ask a question about AMD and Intel to understand what really made them different? Have you ever asked such a question and been given the short answer, "apples vs oranges"?

I'm opening up a small AMA here to allow anyone to ask me questions about the two top cpu manufactures. I will try with my best effort to answer your questions; in a reasonable amount of time. (I tend to get busy time to time)

Who am I? My name is Dolk and I have a Masters in Computer and Electrical Engineering. I've worked on research projects that deal with nano-materials all the way up to RF sensors. I've been following and studying computer architecture and materials science since I started my career.

So anyone can ask me questions like:

"What are the difference between Hyper-threading, and cores?"
"Why is AMD so far behind Intel?"
"Will ARM make a difference?"
"Can you explain how the CPU works and the differences with AMD and Intel?"

Questions already answered:
CPU multiplexer and base clock:
AMD Modules vs Intel Hypter-threading

Last edited:
I have a couple, you have the reference clock and the multiplier.
1 how does the multiplier work ? I know it'll multiply the base clock by 10 say but how does it do that and is the any real truth the the old " high base clock gives better performance" I understand how the frequency works with the trough and spike but does attaining it two different ways make any difference if all other busses are the same. IE 200 x 25 VS 250 x 20

CPU multiplexer and base clock: