• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

24TB NAS Raid 0+1 Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

habbajabba

I want to put x4 wd red 6tb nas hard drives in my pc (sig) and read that a 0+1 array would be the best option.
Is this correct and how much space for data will it actually be after setting it up? I'm keeping the 840 msata for OS backups and replacing it with an Intel 400gb 750 Series HHHl PCI-e 3.0 NVMe ssd.
Big step for me a total noob. I figure my pc will blaze after that providing the rest of it can take it. I will put all my music, video, pics, software backups, etc., on them. Thanks for any replies.

Win7 Pro x64
Asus VG248QE & Vizio M492i-B2
CoolerMaster Silencio 352 (micro/mini)
Asrock FM2A88X-ITX+ mini
AMD A10-7850K @4.5Ghz, Radeon R7, Coolermaster Nepton 120XL
SeaSonic 400 Plat Fanless / CyberPower CP1500 sine wave ups
G.Skill TridentX ddr3 2400 2x8gb
840 evo 120gb msata (os), 2x2tb & a 320gb sata's
Audioengine; A5+ spkrs, S8 sub, D1 dac
Max Nighthawk X8 cherry mx brown

Last edited:
I see no sig, you must have posted from the mobile site.
Try using the mobile app (Android and iOS) instead, it shows your sig when you post from it.

The first question should be "How much storage space do you need?"
The second question should be "What will the storage be holding and how critical is it?"

Added my 'sig'. All my data basically but not sure how much space is actually availabe using 4 6tb's in 0+1 array.
I think I got it. 11TB

Last edited:
It is RAID 10 (no recent RAID card will do 0+1), and the usable space is exactly half of the raw capacity. I hope you aren't going to attempt using on board RAID for this.

What are you trying to achieve by putting the drives in RAID? If it non-critical data (movies, music, etc), running two standalone disks is going to be a lot less headache.