• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Planning for a New Computer Build, Looking for Some Opinions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JoeSchmuck

Registered
I've been building computers since 1976 and I'd say I have a bit of experience under my belt however as I age, I tend to not stay as up to date on things like I use to so I thought it would be a great opportunity to come here and ask for some advice/pointers on a new system I plan to build one way or another.

My current system is an old i7-950 that I built back in later 2009 and I've got 24GB of RAM (the CPU wouldn't handle the 32GB I purchased, what an idiot I was wasting money). So my system is no slouch however it has a few drawbacks... It's power hungry, the fans are a bit too loud (not terrible at all, just irritating), and I want to build my last computer for the next 5-6 years. I do a lot of VMWare Workstation work so all that RAM does not get wasted. This is not a gaming computer so fancy looking hardware is not a selling point, although I would expect most expensive hardware will look good and be targeted at gamers.

Here are my requirements and lets put money to the side for now. It always plays a factor but at least for the initial design we can just go crazy provided we stay within the expectations of the design.

CPU
  • The latest & greatest CPU that support 32GB DDR4 RAM
  • Graphics should be built in to the CPU to reduce the size of the device

RAM
  • 32GB DDR4 Memory (the faster the better that actually runs solid, no burps)

MB
  • MB which can support OC'ing
  • USB 3.1 interface
  • M2 PCI-E SSD interface (two slots would be ideal but not a deal breaker)

SSD
  • 500GB or 1TB (whatever is available) PCI-E M2 SSD

Case
  • Very small and compact, (Mini-ITX size would be what I'm shooting for but not a deal breaker)