• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best 775 air cooler but in 2015 (& upward compatible)?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NewbieOneKenobi

As per title. It's easy to find tests from 2007–2010 when 775 was the jazz, but what about modern coolers that simply happen to still support 775?

CPU is a e8600 lapped E0 Wolfie. Rated 65W TDP, typically draws ~100W, up to 200W when it hits 4 GHz on 1.4V, according to testers (I'm new to it, a recent $30 upgrade).

Usually 38 idle on this thing, i.e. Zerotherm CF800, probably not much better than Intel box except for dbAs, cost a grand total of eight bucks. It has a low profile, three pipes, aluminium structure, copper base.

Mobo is ASUS P5Q-E, which means it uses a ton of heatpipes for northbridge, mosfets and everything else around the CPU, and those things usually get mighty hot.

System temperature is often reported at 45C with both case wings removed(!!!11), where CPU and GPU run at 38C each and CPU actually sits right between two large exhaust fans, i.e. top and side exhaust provided by aftermarket 12cm sysfan and 13.5CM OCZ PSU fan.

No intake fans due to case structure — essentially there is no real viable spot for an intake fan on the front, whereas there is a dedicated fan tray in the case wing in 3.5 HDD bay, with holes on the opposing side. Any intake fan I would probably need to mount on the 3.5'' HDD rack (I will, if I have to, I've used fans hanging on cords before...).

Actually, VGA cooler is 12cm intake (upward, i.e. GPU-facing) mounted on Accelero S1 rev. 2 (if memory serves; passive Accelero at any rate, fan simply tied with cords to heatsink fins).