• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Current Gaming rig under performing - needing suggestions for improvements

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DangDanDingy

Hi Guys!

I'm new here and am a complete amateur when it comes to building a computer.

Anyway, below is a photo of my current rig components used for 1080p gaming which I purchased a couple of years ago when Battlefield 4 had just come out.

IMG_1534.JPG

Nothing is overclocked on it as I have no experience of overclocking for fear of destroying something but I'm willing to learn from a seasoned veteran :attn:

Now that it's a couple of years old, it's starting to slow down and i'm really needing to lay off the graphics settings on most titles due to low FPS and sometimes need to drop down to 720p to compensate, so I really feel that it's in need of an upgrade. I'm a big Fallout fan and so i'm wanting to upgrade my PC in time for the imminent release of Fallout 4 in the next couple of weeks :attn:

The recommended system requirements for Fallout 4 are as follows:

Processor: Intel Core i7 4790 3.6 GHz/AMD FX-9590 4.7 GHz or equivalent
Graphics: NVIDIA GTX 780 3GB/AMD Radeon R9 290X 4GB or equivalent

As you can imagine I paid quite a price for my rig at the time and so i'd quite like to use as many of the existing components I have and not just completely overhaul and start afresh.

So my question for you guys is as follows:

- If this was your rig, which components would you throw out and what would you replace them with? Or should I be overclocking this system rather than buying new components?

Any and all advice is MUCH appreciated!!

Many thanks guys,
DangDangDingy

What budget can you put toward your upgrades?

I'd recommend just doing some cleanup on the OS then seeing if you have improved performance.