• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Small home server - Need suggestions/guidance

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lochekey

Senior Pink Member
Let me start by saying that I am completely new to setting up a server so please go easy on me. I have been doing a bunch of reading to get more comfortable with getting this going but am not yet ready to try it on my own. If you have any suggested reading let me know as I am looking to learn.

So to the meat and potatoes. I am looking to use the server for three main purposes.

I would like to use it as a central storage for pictures and other important documents and have some sort of redundancy for data retention of these items.

Secondly, I would like to be able to load my movie collection on here for streaming to my different devices, mainly an Xbox 360.

Third I would like to have a drive dedicated to backup images of my different benching OS's.

Now that we know what it is for we can look at hardware. I'm gonna be taking some shots in the dark here so please let me know where I am way off base.

Cpu/motherboard -

I figure I am gonna be looking at a low powered embedded solution here. Something like a 2ghz dual or quad core. I also figure it it's gonna need a at least a pcie x4 for a raid card. I am also figuring a gigabit NIC is in order here.

Ram -

I am assuming I don't need anything too special here so something like 4GB of 1600mhz c9

PSU-

I figure something in the 400-500 watt range is in order with a good efficiency rating to help with the electric bill.

Case-

Size of the case is not particularly important but it will need to be big enough to handle at least a few drives and have decent air flow too help keep it quite.

Hard drives-