• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

8350 mildclocking on GNU/Linux

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ctag

Hi there,

I've had my current desktop for over two years now, and it's been a trip :D Initially this topic of overclocking was scary because the computer was expensive and as a college student I wanted to make sure I didn't break my investment. I didn't even know where to begin without having the Windows-only monitoring/stress/benchmark tools handy.

Now I'm more comfortable with the machine, the tools available for Linux, and the opportunity to dig into some bios settings. My plan is to take a few weekends during this semester to explore and tune the settings, with a goal of modest, stable overclocking on just air (AIO water loops are scary things, and building the loop manually appears to leave very few places to purchase parts from). Fair warning this likely will be a slow process.

First up, if this thing's going to run on air, it had best have all the right things going for it. I sleep a few feet away from this box, so noise is definitely a consideration. I'm also a fan of Noctua products, so in goes a NH-D14!

Is this the right amount of thermal paste? I haven't exactly taken a class on the stuff, so my technique has progressed from a thick coat levelled by credit card to this bead that I just smush with the heatsink and bolt down.