• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

i5-2400 vs i5-6500

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

olly29

Registered
Hey guys, I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to computer parts, and am looking to upgrade my current computer currently having an i5-2400 (also GTS 450 for a gpu).
I was wondering if I will see big differences by upgrading to the i5-6500? as well as planning to get a GTX 950 to replace the GPU.

Thanks

Sorta depends on what you'll be using the PC for.
If it's mostly office work, internet browsing and movies, then I'd say no.
If you're doing some light gaming at 1080p, eh, I'd still say no and would recommend getting a better GPU than the GTX950 and perhaps some other upgrades, such as bigger/faster SSD, more RAM perhaps. Hard to tell without knowing your full system specs at.

While the 6500 will be faster than the 2400 (roughly 20%, methinks), upgrading the CPU would also mean upgrading your motherboard and RAM (I'm all about future proofing, so I would never recommend a H/B/Z1*0 mobo with DDR3). IMHO that's too much of an investment for too small of a gain. Perhaps it's just me though...

If gaming is what you're after, then upgrading the GPU to GTX960 or GTX970 (Or R9 380(X)/390) would be more worthwhile, than getting the i5 6500 + GTX950. Even with GTX 970 the bottleneck in games would be the GPU and not your 2400 (I think, someone correct me if I'm wrong :)).

Cool thanks for the reply! My current specs are:
GPU: GTS 450
CPU: i5-2400
Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68M-D2H