• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

virgin loop and brand new to water cooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jaden Ckast

Registered
Hello all, this is my first post here and just wanted to ask a few questions. I just finished my water cooling loop and filled it up with some primo chill. Being a newb I thought this primochill coolant already had biocide in it. Well it doesn't and I've already filled up my res. I'm using a tube res from xspc. It's one of their combo ones. D5 pump on bottom and their glass res on top, all one unit. I also was under the impression that I could drop my kill coil in my res. However there is stuff blocking the fill port on top. I could try and wind the coil down inside but then i would never be able to get it out unless I disassembled the res which I would rather not do. My loop has only been running for a few days and only for maybe an hour or so at a time or 5 hours total. So this is where I'm at.

Basically my questions are:

Can I just put some drops of the biocide into the fill port on top of the res or did I need to pre mix it with my coolant before filling the loop?

How long do I have before algae will start growing? ( it is very dark in this room with the blinds closed but I do have uv leds in the case)

If I am able to get the kill coil in my res, why would I ever need to take it out?

Thanks in advance and sorry for the newb questions.

Welcome to the Forums Jaden!

Can I just put some drops of the biocide into the fill port on top of the res or did I need to pre mix it with my coolant before filling the loop? There is no need to pre-mix as the pump will do this over time. As long as you add the correct amount this will be fine.