• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Oc amd 6200

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gmack12

Sup guys, need a little help from you guys. I just started gaming a year ago and I built my own right but now I don't know how to overclock my cpu, here's my rig...

Amd fx 6200, 3.8 GHZ
Asus m5a78l-m lx plus
XFX radeon r7 360
Cooler Master hyper evo 212

I'm new to all this, but I've tried to YouTube and read up just found nothing I could understand, but I did get all the necessary software like cpu-z, core temp, and hwmonitor. Any help would be great thanks guys.

Your motherboard is not a good candidate for overclocking. Overclocking involves increasing the frequency at which the CPU operates. In order to support that there is at least one voltage that must be increased. Both of those put strain on the motherboard components and make them run hotter. The components on your motherboard that produce the power used by the CPU are not very strong. On top of that the AMD FX CPUs draw a lot of power when you start to overclock them.

Having said all that, you may be able to get a mild overclock on your system but don't expect too much. Your CPU cooler is decent so that is in your favor.

The process involves:
1. increasing the CPU core speed multiplier by 1x increments
2. Testing for stability after each change in the multiplier. Most of us use the blend test in Prime95 for this. Run it for 20 minutes. If you can pass the stress test for 20 minutes, you are at least tentatively stable.
3. Monitoring for "package" temps. We use the non pro version of HWMonitor around here. You don't want your package temps to exceed about 60-65c.
4. Monitoring for CPUTIN temps. This is the socket temp of the motherboard. You want this one to stay below 70c. HWMonitor again.