Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: CPU XP or MP

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dairyland
    Posts
    678

    CPU XP or MP

    I'm going to by a new chip and been debating on this for a couple of days. Wondered if the MP's crunch any faster than the XP. Their's ony one instance in the benchmark database and its a 1.2. I'm curious how fast one of the MP's crunch say a 1900 or so. I thought they came already unlocked but I'm not positive, this would make for a quick OC.

  2. #2
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Posts
    8,073
    everything else equal, mobo, memory, etc.

    100% the same!! since there's no techincally difference between XP & MP. phyiscally, the newer XP has their bridge cut to disable the SMP mode on them. MP is factory unlocked.

    but performance wise, they r the same.
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  3. #3
    Senior Seti Addict TC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    7,504
    They're exactly the same chip. Only difference is some of the XP's now come with one of the L5 bridges cut so they won't work properly in smp until the bridge is closed.

  4. #4
    Senior Member SpeeDj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    2,494
    And the other difference is the MP's are certified and guaranteed to work beyond a shadow of a doubt without any problems whatsoever in SMP Rigs. The quality of an MP Chip is higher as well as the stress testing.

    J
    :: SpeeDj™®© :eek: :: Hiatus - hi·a·tus - n 1: an interruption in the intensity or amount of something 2: a missing piece :: Join our Team! :: [OCG] :: My Heatware :: Forum FAQ's & Guidelines

    .: Seti @ Home Team BoD ... ET Phone Home ?
    :: Learn to Overclock @ www.overclockers.com

    .: I wear the pink ribbon in loving memory of my Aunt Cheryl : 1948 - 2004 | And for Nedclocker's Sharon : 1962 - 2003 |
    :: Seti@Home ::
    SetiStats :: S@W
    :: Folding@Home ::
    FoldingStats :: MoreStats
    :: "Got Dual?" - Cyklopz
    :: "Got Hosting?" :]
    :: The wind whispers of change to come...
    :: -- OCG : OverClockedGamerz "How fast can you frag?"
    :: -- Home for the Overclockers.com Gaming Clans!

  5. #5
    Senior Seti Addict TC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    7,504
    Originally posted by SpeeDj
    And the other difference is the MP's are certified and guaranteed to work beyond a shadow of a doubt without any problems whatsoever in SMP Rigs. The quality of an MP Chip is higher as well as the stress testing.

    J
    They're certified not to have the L5 bridge cut lol. They don't overclock any better, so I'm not sure why they would have passed more rigorous stress testing. I think it's simply AMD's way of charging a lot more for the same thing. Just like P4 xeons cost a lot more but are basically the same as a regular P4 with smp enabled. Of course with P4's there's no known way of getting them to run in smp, and no socket 478 dual boards that I know of.

  6. #6
    Senior Member SpeeDj's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Milwaukee, WI
    Posts
    2,494
    AMD has stated as have many others that not every XP is able to do SMP very well, but the MP's are guaranteed to do it and do it well. Some of the XP's just are not dual worthy chips and unless you have money to go out and try another one, or a nice vendor in the area willing to let you swap chips it's a safer bet to go with the MP's out of the box. Me I am an adventurous one, so when the time comes I will try my luck.

    J
    :: SpeeDj™®© :eek: :: Hiatus - hi·a·tus - n 1: an interruption in the intensity or amount of something 2: a missing piece :: Join our Team! :: [OCG] :: My Heatware :: Forum FAQ's & Guidelines

    .: Seti @ Home Team BoD ... ET Phone Home ?
    :: Learn to Overclock @ www.overclockers.com

    .: I wear the pink ribbon in loving memory of my Aunt Cheryl : 1948 - 2004 | And for Nedclocker's Sharon : 1962 - 2003 |
    :: Seti@Home ::
    SetiStats :: S@W
    :: Folding@Home ::
    FoldingStats :: MoreStats
    :: "Got Dual?" - Cyklopz
    :: "Got Hosting?" :]
    :: The wind whispers of change to come...
    :: -- OCG : OverClockedGamerz "How fast can you frag?"
    :: -- Home for the Overclockers.com Gaming Clans!

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dairyland
    Posts
    678
    Well that seems to be one heck of a scam. I would have thought that they might have a bigger cache but they don't even have that. Thanks guys for the response, the seti gods come through again.

  8. #8
    Senior Member FRANK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Pittsburgh Pa
    Posts
    1,045
    Originally posted by SpeeDj
    AMD has stated as have many others that not every XP is able to do SMP very well, but the MP's are guaranteed to do it and do it well. Some of the XP's just are not dual worthy chips and unless you have money to go out and try another one, or a nice vendor in the area willing to let you swap chips it's a safer bet to go with the MP's out of the box. Me I am an adventurous one, so when the time comes I will try my luck.

    J
    Is buying an XP's rather than an MP any more of a gamble than pumping 2.02v through the CPU or taking a soldering iron to brand new perfectly good motherboard?

    From my experience I'd say that it's a good bet.
    AMD, eXPperience the difference ---------- ---------- ----------SETI 24/7*8

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Dairyland
    Posts
    678
    Is buying an XP's rather than an MP any more of a gamble than pumping 2.02v through the CPU or taking a soldering iron to brand new perfectly good motherboard?

    From my experience I'd say that it's a good bet.
    LOL

  10. #10
    Super Shark Moderator
    LandShark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Deep Blue Sea (Maryland)
    Posts
    8,073
    for the money of a MP chip, i'll certainly take my chance as i've done it. check my sig.
    ~~~ Currently Inactive Mode ~~~

    Got SOLD? MOVE your own thread!


    Folding User Stats
    How many GHz of Intel + Nvidia folding power? Dunno! Lost count!

    | F@H Vista Sidebar gadget | F@H Yahoo Widget | F@H iGoogle gadget |

    | My Heatware | My New HTPC 3.0: Server/Client setup + Better energy efficiency |

  11. #11
    Senior Seti Addict TC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    7,504
    There's no risk of damaging anything by trying an XP. If it doesn't work you just sell the chips.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •