• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Mechanic's Super Computer!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mechanic_2

Hello all,
. . . . Well I have started a thread on a new computer that I am building. I call it my SuperComputer. I am new to this Forum, new to Liquid Cooling, and new to OverClocking. Here is some history and background on myself and what I am trying to accomplish. I have been fooling around with technology and electronics since I was about 4 years old. Of course at that age I only managed to take things apart. My poor dad. :)

. . . . By the time I was 13 or 14 I was actually putting things back together. I still couldn't fix stuff but I was learning. At about 16 years old I managed to repair a small 2 cycle engine. Yes, it ran. In high school I was introduced to BASIC programming. At 19 I repaired my first Wankel engine and I was hooked on working on cars. That became my career path. In 5 years I became a Certified Master Automobile Technician and I maintained that certification for over 30 years. I was about 24 at the time. This would be 1979.

. . . . Personal computers weren't available. In 1982, please don't quote me on this, the VIC-20, an Atari, and some other $300 computers came on the scene. I bought the VIC, a Dataset, 300 baud modem, the VIC printer, and the HESMON cartridge. Oh my was the Dataset slowwwwwwwww!!!!!!! When the VIC 1540 5.25 floppy drive came out I bought one. Then in short order I bought a second one. This was much better and because of the recording format the floppy held 170KB. This was a huge amount at the time.