• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help overclocking FX 6300 on gigabyte 970 DS3

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ayylmao

I recently replaced my stock cpu cooler with an evo hyper 212 so I can overclock my cpu from 3.5ghz to 4.1 ghz. However, because I am a complete noob when it comes to overclocking, I have no idea what to do nor where to start. I realized that overclocking is a bit different for every mobo, which is why I'm here asking for help. I would appreciate it if you guys can provide clear step by step instructions. I watched some videos on how to overclock but most of them differ from one another.

PC specs:
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-970A-DS3
Ram: Corsair Vengeance 8GB PC12800 DDR3 1600MHz
Cpu: AMD FX-6300 2.5ghz
GPU: GTX 960 SC

Here are some pics from my BIOS.
f9SLnVy.jpg
xqU2JRM.jpg
w9aUZzD.jpg
HlBclFO.jpg
33SMgYu.jpg

Welcome to OCF Ayylmao
I would suggest you start by readin the link in my sig about overclocking the FX CPU. Lots of good info there. You'll want CPUz, Prime95 and HWMontitor free so download those. Then befor you start do a short test of 20 minutes with Prime95 blend and have HWMonitor running to capture temps and volts. Post those pics up with the CPUz , CPU,memory and SPD tabs.

I have the same exact mobo as the guy in the video, so can I just follow this guy's video guide since i'm also aiming for 4.1ghz? Also, your OC guide is missing a lot of pictures, so it's somewhat confusing for me.

Also I'm not sure if I did it right but here are my results from the stress test:
occ.png

Last edited:
Set the clock ratio from aut to manual and then to 20.5 and HPC to enabled. Try that with p95 and see if it'll run. If not then we'll need to add some voltage